Kansas City - St. Louis - Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
November 8th 2006
Published: November 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Gateway ArchThe Gateway ArchThe Gateway Arch

St. Louis, MO - 4/11/06
It's been another busy few days for Russ and I. We only ended up staying in Kansas City the night as we couldn't really find much to do. We were there on Monday and everything seemed to be closed so we decided to push on. We spent the afternoon driving to St. Louis where we spent the night in a Walmart carpark. We followed a maze of signs to get to this one RV park but at $50 night we thought we'd make do with a freebie at Walmart. Yesterday was spent at the Gateway Arch in St. Louis. We paid the $10 each to take the tram to the top of the arch, now, when I say tram I really mean pod like thing. We didn't really know what to expect and it sort of reminds me of Dreamworld and waiting for rides like the Tower of Terror or what not, how you have to wait outside a number and then suddenly the doors open and you see this little pod. There were about 6 seats in it and Russ and I managed to get our own pod but I tell you, you wouldn't want to be claustrophobic, tall or go there in summer. Those things are tiny! It takes 4 minutes to get up and 3 mins to get down. Russ was a little bit scared going up but had no problems coming back down. Once you get to the top you look out these really tiny windows. I don't know what I was expecting but it certainly wasn't that. Very strange. We had limited visibility as there was fog and it was just a bad weather day but on a good day you can supposedly see 30km's.

Back on the road, this time with a destination of Chicago. We took a rest stop at Springfield, IL checking out the Lincoln Memorial Gardens which I thought were just beautiful. It was so quiet. We took one of the walks to Springfield Lake and I could have just sat there all day it was that calming. It was quite cool and there was a mist over the lake. Russ was tired so he didn't enjoy it alot which was a bummer as I could haved spent heaps more time taking it all in. We ended up finding an RV park and staying the night in Springfield which brings us to today.

We packed up at 11am this morning and left our overnight home. I would have liked to have done more sight seeing but that didn't eventuate so we are now at an RV park in Chicago. Tomorrow we are catching a train into the city and checking out the place. I'm not too sure on how long we will be here as I'm sure I'll get bored again soon. I wouldn't be surprised if we make our way back to Denver 😊 I'm quite annoyed at the moment as most RV parks are closed for the season which means finding one that is open harder and harder to do. Camping season seems to be APR-NOV 1 so we missed out by a week. In saying that, we probably wouldn't have got a park had we came in summer but it is making me think we should find somewhere we want to stay for the winter months and do more travelling in summer when things are open again and there are more activities to do. I don't know, so many things running through my head right now.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Teeny Tiny WindowsTeeny Tiny Windows
Teeny Tiny Windows

See, I told you the viewing windows were tiny!


9th November 2006

Number one
Hi Deb and Russ - the proud owners of Puffy, Just wanted to be the first one to add a comment in your blog, except I think I made a mistake and added the title twice, oh well! The photos look great, I have never heard of the Arch before. It sounds interesting. So you are in Chicago now - I will think of you if I ever watch Oprah! Have fun, love Jo.
11th November 2006

I want to be number 2!
Chicago looks beautiful, thanks for the awesome pics. Your hair looks great chicky! Am missing you both. Love Kel

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb