Hawaii


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii
January 24th 2011
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hawaii… no more international ports, we are back in America. Everyone knew this port would be different. We had cell phone service, the drinking age was no longer 18 and we were finally realizing our trip was coming to an end. When I woke up in the morning I went up and got breakfast. Of course, before I knew it I had a call from my mother. We talked for a little bit, and then I said ok I’ll talk to you later. Before I knew it she called right back just because she could. After going through immigration we were off the boat. We walked around to an ATM and were finally able to get AMERICAN money out. We were all so thrilled. By 11:30 we were picked up by a bus and taken up towards the middle of the island. About 10 of us were getting ready to jump out of an AIRPLANE!! Ahh, oh skydiving. I was super nervous, especially after my bungee experience. While signing the waver I almost chickened out. It straight up said you may be INJURED or KILLED…. AH SHIT! Before I knew it they called my name and we were walking to the plane. While getting in I finally noticed how we were sitting and I was the person going first! AHHH While flying up I was getting super scared but then eventually I was excited. Before I knew it the door was open, and moving towards the door. BAM! Back flip out the door and falling in thin air! Then the parachute was pulled and we were going for a landing. I was scared because my tandem dude was barefoot, but we landed perfectly. It was so much fun, wouldn’t mind doing it again.

After sky diving Amy, Kayla and I were craving pizza so we went to the mall and got California pizza kitchen. Never have I been so happy. After dinner we just stayed on the ship and decided not to go out. We played games and I finally got to bed. Then next day we went to Pearl Harbor. I had been there before so I knew what I was expecting, however we were there 3 days before the anniversary. They were setting up a ceremony. Lots of Army and Marines were there. After touring Pearl Harbor we walked around the town and explored the cute shops. Went to hooters and watch a football game until on ship time.

After traveling the night on the ship we docked in Hilo. No idea what our plan was, all I knew was I had to meet up with Matt and Andy. Andy went and rented a car the we drove to the other coast (Kona) We went called Jacks Diving Locker and made reservations to go Manta Ray Diving. I was so excited. My parents did this a few years before and said it was awesome. So we went and had a big lunch, nachos for me and sandwiches for the boys. When we went on our first dive and went through a lava tunnel. I love scuba diving and being under the water. It was so much. I was just fascinated and in my own little world. I got a sea urchin shell, but left it on the boat. After our first dive, we ate some dinner then went on a second. It was a night dive and we had flashlights. I was so excited because before we even got in there were 3 manta rays. Getting in pitch black water was a little scary but I was anxious. While sitting on the ground the rays would just swim over us. My scuba instructor was sitting right next to me so I had the brightest lights. The ray would just do flips right over me. I was so fixated on the manta rays that I didn’t even know that an eel swam over me. After the dives we were hungry again. We stopped at the store grabbed some food then drove the two hours to Hilo again. By the time I got back I was so tired I went straight to bed.

Today was the last day in Hawaii. I was going out with my friends Kayla, Amy, Cole and Ellie. We went to explore different waterfalls around the island. The first one we went to had the black sand beaches. That was super fun. After that we went to Wal-Mart and yogurt land. At Wal-Mart we bought boxes for some of our stuff so we could take it off the ship. Then yogurt land was awesome. Last ice-cream of the trip. We then returned the car and sat in traffic to get back to the ship. We were there probably 30 minutes before on ship time. I was so excited to know in a week I would see my parents. It was a great way to end my trip.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.365s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb