Getting Ready to Hula


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii
August 26th 2010
Published: August 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

August 19, 2010

Days until we leave for Hawaii:

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS



Ok, I'm not actually going to hula, but I am getting ready to watch hula dancers. In seven days, Mom and I will be taking off for a much-deserved Hawaiian vacation. There is some preperation that still needs to be done, but we're pretty much ready to go.

Travem Itinerary
Our first five days will be on the Big Island, flying over to Maui on day five and spending the remaining four days there. On the Big Island, we'll be hiking at Volcanoes National Park, and hopefully getting a glimpse at some lava flows. We'll also head up to Mauna Kea to star gaze, and putz around the north and west sides of the island. Our accomodation is actually a rented house up in the hills above Hilo, two bedrooms and a llama pasture. When we get to Maui, we'll be getting busy right away with a luau. Open bar, man! We'll also be going on a half-day semi-private snorkel cruise and maybe some driving around the island. Or maybe some laying around. It's our vacation, we'll do what we want!

The Flight and Luggage
Auntie Meg was very generous and upgraded our flight to Hawaii to first class. Upgrades for the flight home were unavailable, unfortunately, but we'll keep checking. It will make all the difference on a six hour flight. Mom and I also decided to share my giant TravelPro suitcase for our checked luggage and just bring our day packs as carry-ons. We both could have easily fit all our things into individual carry-on suitcases, but the downside is we'd be limited for liquids. And I was not going to compromise brining too little sun screen. The suitcase is so large, and we have it compartmentalized, so there is no reason not to save a buck having one checked bag.

What's in the Bag?
I plan to bring my netbook, in part to continue to test this whole travel blog thing, but mostly to have a place to download photos daily so both our memory cards can be clean for each day of the trip. Nowdays the Internet is such a resource, I really don't know how I would do nine days entirely without it! I still have my sarongs purchased as functional souvenirs from my 2006 Maui trip; those were the first to go in the bag. Also your usual 85 degreese, 100 percent humidity wardrobe: shorts, tank tops, sandals, swim suit. I also picked up a $30 rain jacket shell from the Eddie Bauer outlet. Most of our time in Hilo is supposed to be rainy, and the jacket packs up nicely when not in use. Because we have enough room in the suitcase, we're also bringing our own beach towels (mine is also a souvenir from the last Hawaii trip) and a beach bag to use on the snorkel trip.

Day Pack
I'll be trying out a Rick Steves bag. It is convertable messenger-style or back pack and holds both my netbook and giant camera. This will be a practice run for the bag, as I intend to use it for my Italy 2011 trip. I'll post a full review of how well the bag worked under the "Solo Italy" trip section.

I am so excited for this trip. It is fun to go somewhere where there is nothing to do but simply enjoy yourself!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb