The final few days


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It wouldn't be a fitting end to our trip if things had gone smoothly, so instead all the shuttles to the airport in Honolulu were fully booked when we tried to reserve seats and we ended up having to get up at 6am to catch a measly 40 minute flight at 11am from the airport only 7 miles away. The bus system here is soooo slow.

Then, when we arrived on Big Island to see the lava flowing in to the sea from the most active volcano in the world which has been erupting since 1983, yes, 1983, we hear that it stopped 2 months ago and the lava hasn't quite built up enough yet for it to be pouring out of the crater. We did still see all the previous lava streams and the glowing steam at the crater, but it's not quite what we'd gone all the way there for.

And then on the way back to Honolulu our flight was delayed by 5 hours and there were only 2 shops in the airport.

When we finally rejoiced at being back in Waikiki and decided to get an early night in preparation for our fun-packed final 2 days I get woken up in the middle of the night to the loudest rumbling I've ever heard and I think we are about to get incinerated by the now erupting volcano. It turns out it was just a really big thunderstorm right above us that marked the start of hurricane season and the wash out of everything we'd planned to do to end our trip on a high.

But that's just the way it is, and now I have 3 days and 4 flights to get through before arriving at Heathrow at 6am.

I've had a better time over the past 7 months than I ever thought I would and I can't wait to catch up with everyone and a great big roast dinner when I get back. I think I'll have just enough time to unpack and get some fresh clothes before setting off again to Cuba for my Mum's 60th celebrations.

Then it's back to the real world.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb