Dive at E. Beach…again…and again.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
February 12th 2013
Published: February 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I did the 2 most amazing dives I have done in the island! Dive 19. E Beach with Sandi and Arnie

We dove the dive site Arnie’s way. We did a big circle to the right of the pipe starting wide open to the west and around and coming into the pipe to get back. To start off Arnie showed me a purple flatworm. I regret I didn’t spend more time on it with the magnifier glass. We saw a desirable Nudi and pustulous Nudis, which I snaped quiclkly for my photo blog and moved on to the good stuff. We visisted the ledges were mama white tip comes to give birth. We checked it and only a small shark was in it and not pregnant. Sandi photographed and octo, a turtle, and some cleaner stations. Pretty cool. She was after the purple wrasses. I photographed a pretty fish (ID later). I love the juvenile bi-color damselfish so I played with them for a bit. On the way back Sandi spotted a painted froggie and I could hear her screaming of joy across the water. It reminded me my dive buddies back at home in FL. I was down
Yellow frogfish closer lookYellow frogfish closer lookYellow frogfish closer look

Which one do you like better the one further away or the one closest? Vote for your fave please and if you like let every one know why...
to 250 psi and snapped 3 shots for proof of life and ascended to swim back. I was very exited to have seen it. It was at a frame a bit passed the end of the pipe. It was underneath the frame and it was not possible to access it to photograph. By the end of the dive I was buoyant and I needed the extra weight of my ankle weights to keep me down.

Photo notes: Photographig under surge and wide movement is a good practice and get faster with the trigger. But under those conditions I recommend a faster lens than the 105 maybe a 60mm or a 40mm.

Log 525 31ft 92 min


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Juvenile Bi-Color DamselfishJuvenile Bi-Color Damselfish
Juvenile Bi-Color Damselfish

I was hypnotized these guys so cute
Yellow frogfish Further away (different images-not a crop)Yellow frogfish Further away (different images-not a crop)
Yellow frogfish Further away (different images-not a crop)

Which one do you like better the one further away or the one closest? Vote for your fave if you like...


17th February 2013
juvenile rockmover wrasse (Novaculichthys taeniourus)

Fish ID
Hey! This is a juvenile rockmover wrasse :)
17th February 2013
juvenile rockmover wrasse (Novaculichthys taeniourus)

ID
No idea about the ID of any Pacific fish, but "juvenile razorfish" jumped into my mind as soon as I saw the pic. Cool fishy, though. :-)
17th February 2013

fish id
Nice picture of a juvenile rockmover wrasse (Novaculichthys taeniourus). The adults look completely different. Very hard to get a good picture of these fish as the swim very erractically but you nailed it!
4th March 2013

Thanx todd! I have updated it! ID are always welcome ; )
17th February 2013
juvenile rockmover wrasse (Novaculichthys taeniourus)

ID Please
Your picture above is of a juvenile rockmover wrasse. They are some times called dragon wrasses. They like to drift along the current blending into there surroundings as they forage for food. Adults use there teeth to pick up rocks in there hunt for food, thus there name.
4th March 2013
juvenile rockmover wrasse (Novaculichthys taeniourus)

Thanx Stu. I am updating it : )
19th February 2013

Ah~ Would've loved to see the flatworm. One of those creatures whose beauty is magnified by the way they move, but still so beautiful in photographs.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb