Beach, Markets and Guns


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
June 19th 2012
Published: June 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Aloha Friends and Fam,

Heres another update of my first full day in Waikiki,,,

At 9am I went to for breakfast and had some toast and peanut butter with coffee. They had the Spain vs Croatia game playing, so I was kinda glued to the tv set first thing. I met up with the new yorkers and they were off scuba diving and snorkeling. I decided to just start walking... I walked to the base of Diamond Head first along the Esplanade passing by the zoo and aquarium. I took lots of photos of the beach and Diamond Head. When I got to the bottom, I actually didnt see any signage or anything and wasnt sure where to go if I was to start to hike to the top.. also there was this big black cloud in the distance and it looked like if I went up, I may get stuck in a rain storm so I decided to walk back and take more photos of parks, trees, monuments etc.. I walked to the International Marketplace and as I kept walking, I kept taking photos. I was so hungry when i got to the marketplace, I couldnt decided what to eat. Nothing was calling for me. So funny enough, I went to ABC and got more raman noodles like the night before and an natural energy drink and went to the beach, sat down and relaxed. After my bite to eat, I noticed I was close to the Royal Hawaiian Hotel and went for a walk along the beach to the famous pink hotel.

Then I decided to walk back to the hostel and clean up as I was covered in sand. I walked back and finally met my roomies. Once is an aussie, I was right, her name is romy and she is a FA in australia. Why am I meeting so many FAs on my trip? Anyways, another one of my roomies is very quiet and I dont think she speaks much english. Anyways, romy and I had a good get to know you talk and then I freshened up and got back out there to talk more pics and keep walking. I decided to go get a Shaved Ice .. on the corner from the zoo. I got three flavors, pineapple, coconut and strawberry. Anyways, it was 3 times bigger than they use to be when I was 11!!! I sat on the beach and ate all of it. The weather was so off and on today. Mostley overcast and humid. The sun did come out and the rain misted here and there. The wind was constant but nice because it made the humidity not as muggy. However, my back still got burnt..After my shaved ice, I walked around again and took for photos along the Esplanade. I located a farmers market which had fresh produce, hawaiian made food and I bought some local mango, dried papaya and sweet potatoes and other goodies. Then I went back to the hostel to see if they were serving dinner. However, it was the chefs night off so I had to find my own dinner for tonight. After a walk around the block to the canal and back.. I decided to go get some food...I didnt know where I was going or what I wanted eat...except I wasnt wanting raman noodles at ABC again. I wanted to go back to the International Market Place at night because I wanted to take night photographs with all the lights. However, I got distracted by a guy on a corner handing out flyers to shoot guns. So I decided to go shoot some pistols and riffles at the Hawaiian Gun Club before dinner. He he he. that was one of the the few things I wanted to do on my trip, so i was happy to get the opportunity to do so.

I went for dinner afterwards at Tiki Town in the International Marketplace. It wasnt very food and I think Mackers would have been more satisfying. Then I walked around, took some pics and watched a performance of Hula dancers in the food court. Afterwards I walked around Waikiki taking night photographs along the Esplanade. I watched two brothers jitting or gitting which is a form of dance. Then, I went to back to ABC and bought some toasted coconut ale and was only charged for 1 instead of 6. So, I bought a bottle of water (tap water smells like sewage here, yuck), a small bag of kettle chips and 6 beers for $6 dollars. Sweet. When I got back to the hostel, everyone was hanging out outside in the foyer eating area, playing and singing music. It seems like a constant party here at the hostel. Anyways, I decided to opt out on the party and go back to my room, where I am now sitting on the balcony drinking my hawaiian roasted coconut ale as I enjoy the warm evening while I listen to the chatter and bottles ofb beer opening below me.

Tomorrow after breakfast, I plan on going to the community center, just up the road from my hostel and checking out the thrift store and market. Then I plan on figuring out how to take the bus to the North Shore. Its apparently an hour and half bus ride but apparently worth it as I have heard nothing but good stuff about the small little surf town from locals and tourists. I need to get away fr the tourists..

Today I took 750 photos which is crazy. I cant believe I took that many but now I need to figure out how to upload them.

Anyways my friends and fam, I am missing you all and thinking of you lots.

Aloha,

Jackie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb