Follow your Passion to Surf


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
July 27th 2009
Published: July 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Surfing for the 1st Time

Welcome to my very first blog!

As my profile picture has me on a surf board, let me tell you about my adventure with Surfing for the 1st time. Having tried boogie boarding in Hawaii on vacation 1 1/2 years ago, I caught the "fever" or passion to learn how to surf. The problem with living in Seattle, the ocean nearby is very cold! Not a good introduction to a new sport.

With the suggestion of a friend, I started preparing for my surf experience while in Seattle by treading water in the swimming pool. I took my girls at a neighborhood swimming pool, and while they played, I treaded water. In Hawaii, I also practiced threading in the open ocean, which helped me stay more buoyant due to the salt in the water.

A week into our stay, I had a private instruction with GIRLS WHO SURF in Oahu. My instructor is Cecilia, who was originally from Brazil. We worked on land tactics on the sand, i.e. how to paddle, how to get up, what to do when the wave is coming at you.

Then, it was time to hit the water. Situated in White Plains Beach, by Ko Olina Beach Resort, and a nearby military installment, I paddled away from shore with Cecilia nearby. As I positioned myself for the first wave, I was told by my instructor to paddle as fast as I can.

And, as I paddled as hard as I possibly can, the wave came behind me. Cecilia shouted out to stand on my surf board. I got up remembering the two ways I had learned, and chose the fastest way, which was to literally jump onto your board. With the wave pushing me forward, I was up on my board gliding on the top of the water, feeling such a sense of EXHILARATION!!! The moment was short, but will stay with me for a very long time.

I was able to get up several more times, which was such a feeling of wonderment and accomplishment. I started getting fatigued from having to paddle so much. It was the arm movements that were a challenge for me, as it seemed I had no problems with my balance. Though I think having some yoga practice in me helped in getting up (think "cobra" yogis). My instructor said I had the go-getter attitude, which helped propel me on the board and just go for it. I felt proud of myself. I followed my passion and had the time of my life. Now, all I have to do is work out so that I am stronger, especially in the upper body, for the next time I surf ;-)

So, I went for it, and can now say I have surfed. WOW! If you have an inkling to try something new, I say just go for it. Follow your passion! ALOHA!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



28th July 2009

Cool first blog
Thanks for sharing your experience of learning to surf! It sounds like you had a great time and were successful! Can't wait to hear about more Hawaii adventures!!! :)
28th July 2009

That's so awesome! Congrats on standing up on the board, I hear that is really hard to do. Very smart idea getting ready for surfing before heading out on your vacation. Great first post on your blog! Look forward to reading more.
29th July 2009

How It Feel Like?
I never try surfing yet.... but I try to go Siargao the capital surfing site in the Philippines , the waves are amazing.
7th August 2009

Where is Siargao in the Philippines? I'm intrigued ;-) When are you planning on trying on surfing? It is a fantastic experience.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb