Hawaii - Day 1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all or more appropriately Aloha 😊

This is just a quick summary of my 3 day marathon flights to this beautiful island called O'ahu.

In total I was in the air for about 22 hours, I probably watched all the movies and mini-series possible. I even finished reading a 400 odd pages long book. You can imagine how hyperactive Ting managed those long hours on the plane.

I stayed over in Houston for a night, because the cheapest connection flight was only available the following day. Thinking I can crash inside the George bush international airport, but only to realise that I need to go through custom and cannot go in the airport again till the next day. With a little panic and some great help at their help desk, i found a formula one look-a-like hotel nearby. It costs me 77 dollars ... so much for saving bucks. But the experience was rather interesting to see all the cow boy look-a-like, most of the Americans I saw here, had tattoos or very overweight. So I am feeling rather skinny at the moment :P My first supper in Houston was a Sonic Burger (not sure why they call it thatt, cos it took freak long to arrive) and a local beer! YUM!! The burger was enormous and I wish I can say that I struggled to finish it, but those who knows me (yes lala) I managed the super size burger with only minor difficulties :P

The following morning I made the mistake of ordering a horrid looking sandwich which costme abt R65 ... i think i was close to tears.

After I got over feeling sorry for my very anorexic looking wallet, I boarded my final flight of this trip and on my way to Hawaii !! I cant start to tell you all, just how happy and excited I was !! To those dietitians out there, please apply jobs for Continental airlines food service department. They have no idea what healthy diet is all about. Following items was offered to us : choc brownies, 2x packet of crisps, mushie pizza, salad (only lettuce and bits of carrots) with loads of dressing, ice cream, bagels with cheese and cold meat (oh and one very sad looking slice of lettuce in between).

Not only their food was horrid, but the air hostess is just as scary. How can I describe them.... over forties, overweight, rude, obnoxious ladies. Just to make this email short I will cut the story short as to why I have such bad impression of them. One of the flight attendant told me to take another flight if i am not happy with my seats (after she offered my original seat to someone else - one with plenty leg space.)

FLY EMIRATES !!

Then, surprise surprise, Continental airline lost my luggage too. I was told, "well, you are from africa... you know...." (please imagine that sentence was said with a heavy, annoying, nasal accent)

So besides all the moaning, Hawaii is indeed very very pretty and very very Hot!!

We had our first dip in the crystal blue ocean yesterday. The water was so warm and the current is minimal which is awesome for the ocean phobic ting.

Our accommodation is a rented house by tim's company and sharing the accommodation with Tim's boss and his fiance. It's a 2 bedroom place where they abuse the lounge space as their office, which is great environment for me to work on my protocol too. Best bit of this place is that we have a mango tree in the backyard where we collected abt 6 mangos already (Linnie, I will have a extra mango on your behalf). YUM!! Soothed my dying need for some proper fruit.

Otherwise, our next little event to look forward to is to join their 4th july parade and fireworks.

So that's it for now folks...

Hope you all well !!

p.s will post some pics soon when my luggage arrive with my cables in there.


Ting & Tim

Advertisement



13th July 2008

Nice one guys
I hope you're having a blast! Enjoy the sun while you can

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb