On a white sandy beach of Hawai'i


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jen Jules RachJen Jules RachJen Jules Rach

in our Waikiki home
My trip to Hawai'i in April confirmed that I have the coolest island buddies in the world!

First of all, Jen and Julie were the best Hawai'i travel partners you can get. They played with me tirelessly. Surfing Hale'ewa, tearing up Makapu'u and Diamond Head, swimming at Lanikai, and Jen's nakey yoga- these ladies from Pittsburgh never stopped! They even saved my life with their blood-curling screams as I drove the yellow rental car the wrong way down King Street (since when is King one way??)

And I also have the coolest Hawaiian paddling buddies ever, you Waikiki Surf Club paddlers. Luana and Richline, a big mahalo for letting me in the boat again. My glorious return to the Ala Wai and the great beyond! You owe Kelii and Alan a round of beers for sticking me in 1, having to follow my bobble head the whole way to Honolulu Harbor and back. And Kevin, thanks for the pitcher at Magoos! And my chikas- KJ, Dana, Suzanne, and Kiley- look at you lovely ladies. Where's Mimi and Stacy in that picture?? Like I told Suzanne, one day in our lifetime, even if it's 62 years from now, I
Wannita, Maribella, and meWannita, Maribella, and meWannita, Maribella, and me

watch out, we're going to come and TB test you
will get us back in a boat at the same time. I'm your steerswoman, you have to listen to me.

And will someone please text me when Suzanne delivers? I feel so out of the loop now that I'm gone. Just let me know when the little cowboy makes his debut.

Last but not least, what would a Hawai'i vacation be without a day in the tuberculosis clinic?? I can't believe it's been 3 years since I worked with the Lanakila gang. Despite the miles and the time zones between us, you still make me feel like I'm part of you. Could it be because my desk remains untouched? Could it be because I still get random questions about TTP? Nooo, it's because you are the kindest, most welcoming colleagues a girl from the mainland could ever have!

Don't forget about me guys, I'm going to come back lots now, ok? A hui hou!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Jen makes her surfing debutJen makes her surfing debut
Jen makes her surfing debut

at Hale'ewa. She's a champ...
Beached lawyers:Beached lawyers:
Beached lawyers:

Jen's doing her law networking even in the surf.
Giovanni's:Giovanni's:
Giovanni's:

just looking at this picture gives me garlic breath
I love papayaI love papaya
I love papaya

and baby bananas
Mai Tais...Mai Tais...
Mai Tais...

mmmmmmmm


20th April 2007

aloha rachel, how wonderful to see you and the island crew... miss you!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb