Breathlessly Humid in Honolulu


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
June 28th 2019
Published: June 29th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Hurricane preparation announcements have been broadcast on the radio ads frequently reminding all on the Hawaiian Islands that hurricane season is looming.
Here on Oahu the weather has been hot, humid and stormy this week. Plenty of rain, flash floods, thunder and lightning.
Today I was in Manoa buying some fresh fruit and vegetables from the Thursday farmers market held in front of the post office. I also ducked in to the post office to mail out a birthday gift to my daughter in Alaska. Next stop was Safeway for a few essentials. The talk of the town was humidity.
This evening as I am checking my weather app I see that as of 8:25 pm it is currently 86 degrees with 85% humidity. That is a pretty high number for many to continue to work in, play sports in and just enjoy normal pursuits. For me personally, that number makes walking from point A to point B very difficult due to an ongoing lung issue that I have been living with for the past twenty years.
It is my goal in this blog to show that even with lung issues, or other disabilities, it is possible to travel and enjoy!
I landed on Oahu in early May to watch my daughter graduate with her MS in Biomedical Sciences. As soon as graduation was over, we jumped in to help my daughter and son in law pack and liquidate all of their household items plus car in anticipation of their move to Atlanta Georgia where she will be pursuing her PhD.
Another humid state! However, I checked Atlanta's humidity and temperature today and both were lower than Honolulu.
Due to the weather my errands of the day were cut a bit short but still enjoyable. Please check back for more posts about the 50th state, with helpful travel tips, photos, and more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb