Happy New Year from Fiji (almost)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Kailua-Kona
January 3rd 2011
Published: January 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone and Happy New Year. It's lovely to hear from you all at home. I feel such a long way away! Well I've had an interesting few days - caught a bad bug on plane to Big Island - went on a tour up Mauna Kea (higher than Everest) and ended up with acute bronchitis - nearly hospitalised! Hostel I stayed at was very good but there were only two of us there and I was in bed for most of the time. Had to collect hire car and drive (for the very first time on 'wrong' side of road) last friday in a strange town looking for the Urgent Care Clinic that I wasn't sure existed! And I was feeling really ill (Get the picture?). Spent 3 hours there and then had to go over other side of Hilo for Walmarts. Waited another couple of hours for medication then had to drive over to other side of island to find room for the night (new year's eve night!). What a road - Saddle Road they call it - half of it under reconstruction across the mountain range. Took me hours - I think I was the only one up there - fog and mist rolling in - night falling - and I didn't have a clue where I was. Was thinking I would be spending night in car up there. Not much fun! Anyway, had another Eureka moment - next mountain pass and the sun starting shining and I could see life in the distance. So someone up there is showing me the light!! I'm not seeking sympathy - it's all character-building experience! I'm feeling much better now and off to Honolulu tomorrow ready to fly to Fiji on Tuesday. So it's onwards and upwards.

Really getting used to the driving now. Wish I'd done it sooner. Lovely to hear from you all - please keep them coming - a word from home is really welcome. Sorry this is blog is a bit miserable - I'll make the next one from Fiji better!

Love xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



3rd January 2011

blimey
it doesn't sound good mum, you need to be more careful xx do you have contact details in your possession when you go out, in case of emergency?
3rd January 2011

Thank goodness!!
Glad to hear from you, my friend! I've texted and emailed and heard nothing so I was really worried....so glad you are OK even though you sound like you have been really poorly!! All sounds very exciting and new, and full of adventure, not like here! Pappy is steadily improving but still needs to get to the doctors which we have yet to manage...I've improving really well, and starting to properly bend my knee which is good but not as exciting as your life! I have another 4 weeks of sick leave which is great as I can concentrate on the knee and walking properly, and then Al and I can start thinking about having a more exciting life in 2011!! We have decided not to book any holidays or make any big decisions until we can see the change in my leg and life, because we just don't know how good it can all get. It could get as exciting as yours!!!! Al sends her love, and Pappy asks after you daily, so he'll be delighted to hear from you....and Al says everyone in the village asks after you when she is walking the dog so she'll update them all! keep them coming!!!!
5th January 2011

Hi
Wendy, Have just read your travel blog and sounds like you are having great fun and livin' the dream. All the great travellers have an illness episode at some point, it just adds to the narrative. Hope you are feeling better though. Never been to Hawaii, but your vivid picture inspires me to go there at some point in my life. All the best, Rob
5th January 2011

hello
hello aunt wind, glad to see youre having a nice time! hawaii and fiji eh, sounds tough!! stay safe and have a couple of cocktails for me! jonathan x

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb