Kona side


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Kailua-Kona
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

JoeJoeJoe

One of the Branson boys
I left Oahu on Wednesday and headed to the Big Island. My plane descended into this black lava field and desolate looking area.. Welcome to Kona!!!! My friend Justin lives here. I went to high school with him but never really knew him ..we found each other on myspace and he came over before my Australia trip and gave me so many great tips. This guy loves traveling as much as me if not more. He is always jetting somewhere. As we drive up to his house he shares with a few other people he says "Sorry my house is kinda ghetto"...."Its ok," I reply, "Ive been staying at a hostel. Anything is better" We round the corner and he pulls out a gate opener. Yah, dude lives in a gated community. A four bedroom..3 bath house with a view overlooking palm trees and the ocean. His house is absolutely beautiful.
He has a couple other guys from Branson staying with him so we all headed to these lava tubes about 45 minutes away. Basically a lava tube is now just a big cave now that the volcano on this side of the island is dormant. A couple of the caves
The best host everThe best host everThe best host ever

Justin Wilfon
were filled with water that we could take a flashlight in then swim back. It was pretty much kickass. We felt like we were explorers in Natl. Treasure or something. I couldn't wipe the smile off my face. i felt like a little kid again.
Yesterday was pretty uneventful and got me a lil down. It rained ALLLLL DAY. My phone broke so I went to T-Mobile and got a hot pink phone that I named Lulu. I guess it will be a memory of my time in Hawaii. I decided to name my inanimate object so maybe it would feel more loved and not break one month after the warranty expires like every other phone has. I also burnt my leg with bacon grease when helping cook breakfast. I look slightly like a leper on my right leg but it'll heal.
Its actually been pretty great here at the house. We have stayed in both nights Ive been here. All 7 of us fix dinner together and have some drinks and watch movies. Last night one of the guys ended up shaving his hair into a mullet but pretty low key and relaxing nonetheless. Today we head to the
MeMeMe

Imagine what it would be like with lava still in it
beach. Im loving how different the big island is from Oahu and I cant wait to see more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Brrr...Brrr...
Brrr...

It was a lil cold wheen you first get in
The beginningThe beginning
The beginning

Starting to venture into the unknown
RespectRespect
Respect

I did not use it for any of these reasons


12th December 2008

I still love you even if you are a leper.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb