Aloha


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Hilo
August 1st 1996
Published: October 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Aloha and Mahalo


I had just gotten a windfall, and I wanted to do something. I thought to myself, 'I want to see a volcano'. The big island of Hawaii has a volcano...

The Big Island


I came to Hawaii on Pleasant Holidays. One of my coworkers was a AAA member, and she helped get my tickets and reservations including car rental. That was way cool. I stayed in Hilo on the Big Island (too bad I can't remember the hotel name).

After I arrived, I got my rental car, and I was off. I went on the volcano tour, and I got to see the top of a dormant volcano. Then I wanted to see the active volcano. I drove to the coast where you can see steam rising from the ocean due to lava flow. I got to see the side of volcano, but not the openings where you can see actual red lava. I wish I had gotten closer... Too bad there were too many danger signs. These were danger signs, not warning signs! Like, "Breathing volcanic gases can cause crystalization in your lungs" or "You are standing on an ocean shelf". Damn those signs. Would anyone care if I died in Hawaii?

But I did pick up hitchhikers for the first time (but not possibly last). They were a couple from Arizona. They were backpacking through Hawaii. They seemed like nice folk, but they needed a shower...

I drove around the entire island in a half day. I went to the Kona side, where it doesn't rain. I went swimming in the ocean (only up to my height ^_^).

Hilo and rain


Damn the Hilo side of the Big Island. There's constant rain even when the sun is out. I actually had to buy an umbrella from Hilo Hattie.


Advertisement



25th May 2006

Hi
hi i think this is really sad that people are dying from the volcanoes

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb