Leaving Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Savannah
August 29th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

From Savannah to Belgium


Low Country BoilLow Country BoilLow Country Boil

My wonderful cake
Starting a new adventure is not to be taken lightly, but who worries about that when the thought of a new beginning is looming on the horizon. I completed my last few days of work like I should. I enjoyed the company of good friends and coworkers to say farewell, but who would have thought I would come to miss it so much. Packing was hectic just look at the pictures, and I still didn't pack everything. The flights were a little rough, a family of 5 under the age of 5, surly flight attendants, and terrible food. What does that mean, don't fly U.S. Airways. Seriously, I had a better experience flying with Delta and Air France to Russia. And make sure you have a decent lay over so you can walk to your next flight and maybe get a bite to eat or at least rest a little.
Aside from the really really long flights, I had a fantastic welcoming party. I saw Kevin for the first time in 2 years, and I met his mother for the first time. Her name is Claudette, and now I just call her Maman. I feel a little weird calling her by her first name. And she hates when I say "Oui, Madame." or "Merci, Madame." It's just like saying "ma'am" back home. But she doesn't like it...lol. She complains that I don't eat enough. How like my mother! I love her, she's so cute!
Luggage. Now that was fun. When we checked my 2 pieces, they were both overweight. For those of you who have never been to Europe, or never really paid attention to the details of European towns, their streets are narrow, therefore their cars are small. I talking a little hatchback small for 2- 29", 70lb suitcases and 3 people. And their houses are small too. I think it's adorable, and I love the quaintness of everything. Until you try to haul those 70 lb suitcases up stairs...
The important thing is that I arrived safely. I will write more about Belgium in a bit.
Ciao!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Low Country BoilLow Country Boil
Low Country Boil

Trish, Jessica, Lee
Low Country BoilLow Country Boil
Low Country Boil

Jessica and her beautiful baby
Low Country BoilLow Country Boil
Low Country Boil

John Patrick
Low Country BoilLow Country Boil
Low Country Boil

John Patrick and Ms. Sherri
Low Country BoilLow Country Boil
Low Country Boil

Twin 1, Shea and Chris, and Abby at the bottom
Low Country BoilLow Country Boil
Low Country Boil

Twin 1, Shea and Chris, and Abby behind the chair
Low Country BoilLow Country Boil
Low Country Boil

The Halls, sans Billy


5th September 2008

Happy
I'm happy you made it and now have fun but don't forget about us.. or me :-)
5th September 2008

Have fun!
Christa, Thanks for sharing the pictures and stories of your experiences so far. It was fun to look at it all and I look forward to continuing to cyberstalk you during your trip! Have loads of fun! We miss you!
7th September 2008

September 6,2008
So glad that you had a good trip. Just enjoy the time that you have there and take in all the lovely sites. The pictures are really great. Have a wonderful time.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb