Flight cancel - Quito a day late


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
July 30th 2010
Published: March 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I was scheduled to take Delta airlines flight to Quito, Ecuador. The day started with major mess ups in their flight, half of the flights delayed, half cancelled. I was flying SEA - Salt Lake city - Atlanta - Quito. The first flight was delayed, second missed, then another delayed and finally I ended up in Atlanta few min before departure. I ran to the flight wishing I will make it, and as soon as I landed at the gate, I saw flight officer close the gate. Me and few other passengers shouted, we are here, but she won't budge. We all told her their flights were delayed, we are all here, there is no flight for next 24 hrs, lets us in. But she won't budge. The plane just sat there for few minutes while we argued with her. Maybe she was just doing her job, or maybe she could be considerate and let us in and got our thanks. But that day all she got was heated arguments, haterate and wishes that she dropped dead. I had lost one precious day of my vacation. The only thing that made me feel a little ok was the fact that there was another girl travelling which me who came from Canada, and she was going all the way to Quito to see her boy friend for just one day. Missing this flight meant that she will see him for just few hours after doing more than 36hrs of flight time. Well, I had to make the best of day, so I spent the day on internet looking up what to do in Ecuador. In some sense it was not wasted time as I got to know about Mindo there which turned out to be awesome!

Next day I boarded the flight with no more issues. I was still trying to see if its same woman at the gate and give her an evil eye. Quito was cold, and just walking a bit outside you can feel the air thinning. Rahul met me there and we took a bus to hotel. The Hotel was nice, tiny room, but rest of it was spacious. Since I was a day late, all our plans of going out and seeing the city were rendered useless. We just walked around that day and planned to head out to our next hiking destination the next day - Chugchilan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb