Delays ....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
April 29th 2006
Published: May 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After heroic efforts by both Nana and Abby to help us get ready for our trip, we arrived at Hartsfield at 2:45 p.m. on April 29, 2006. We had enough luggage to convince people that we were MOVING to Peru rather than visiting - and several people commented on it. Shuffling 3 suitcases, a duffle, a pack n play, 2 carry-ons, a diaper bag, a backpack and a baby backpack carrier along with two kids is no easy feat - let me tell you! Luckily only one of our bags was overweight so we redistributed a bit and all was well. (I'd like to see someone pack a full size suitcase full of something other than feathers and have it weigh under the 50 lb limit!)

Was a little perterbed that the guard made me remove my SANDALS to walk through the metal detector. What did he think I could hide in there? He made the lady behind me remove her flip flops. Ummmm ... yeah. About the only thing you could hide in those is athlete's foot.

Why can't airline personnel just say, "Folks, it is going to be a cold day in hell before your plane gets here. Go feed your poor starving children and have a beer. Be back in xxx minutes." ? Instead, they made announcements indicating we were about to take off every ten minutes for two hours so that our flight, scheduled to leave at 4:55 p.m., did not leave until almost 7:30 p.m. By which time both kids were hungry, tired and cranky.

To make matters worse, the $350 I paid for Pierce to SIT IN MY LAP didn't cover a dinner for him, so I fed him mine, making me hungry, tired and cranky. 😊

Jack ended up falling asleep almost as soon as dinner was over on Jeff's lap, but Pierce stayed awake until almost 10:00 p.m., finally conking out laying across Jack's seat. Jeff and I were both relieved that the kids had behaved admirably (under the circumstances), plus it is always nice when other people's kids are worse than yours. 😊

Since our connecting flight in Lima, Peru left at 6:00 a.m. and we were now told we would be arriving at 12:30 a.m. rather than 10:30 p.m. we were actually naive enough to be pleased, since our layover would actually be shorter.

Of course, I was looking forward to a 6 hour layover with two kids as much as having my fingernails ripped off. If only I had known ....

(Note: I've been saving up these entries, waiting to have a chance to download the pictures we've taken from Jeff's laptop. He's been so busy working, I haven't had a chance to do it. If I am able to update pictures later, I'll send an e-mail out!)

Advertisement



6th May 2006

spare time
Very interesting first entry. Maybe you can take up a career writing when you get home... :-)
7th May 2006

This is great Laurie! I appreciate being able to read your diary and I love your next day sense of humor.
7th May 2006

1st flight
I couldn't agree with you more regarding the time spent waiting for a flight to board and/or take off. I think all airline personnel are required to join a branch of the Armed Services so they can hurry up and wait. This prepares them for taking their frustrations out on the passengers.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb