Leg One


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
April 24th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Loaded carLoaded carLoaded car

My car, ready to go
Deltona-Atlanta 10 hrs.
Leaving home was emotionally difficult. My soulmate, Jimmie, and I said a tearful goodbye. I wish he could go with me. From Deltona I took by-ways, not highways. SR 326 is a beautiful drive across Florida. The road went through the Goethe National Forest and a lot of horse land. SR 326 ended at SR 19 which I took all the way to Atlanta. I went through Americus (remember, the Natalie Portman, Ashley Judd movie?). I hit Atlanta at the best possible time (sarcasm), rush hour. The traffic is fast, furious, close and crazy…that is when you are not completely stopped. Then 75/85 is a parking lot. My friend Susan (couch #1) greeted me with shrimp scampi and a bottle of tequila, which we managed to drink half of before the night was over. I got to meet her new, young boyfriend (he was very friendly), and we talked and laughed and drank shots all night. The next morning I awoke very thirsty and with a slight headache. Not bad considering all the tequila. We headed out for the new, almost the biggest in the world, Georgia Aquarium, around 10. Since the aquarium is new, the fish are
SR 326SR 326SR 326

Through the Goethe National Forest, Florida
young and small. The tanks seem way too large for the fish. It will be interesting to watch, over the years, Ralph and Norton (whale sharks, the biggest of all the aquarium residents) grow to 30 ft. They are only 10 ft. now. Susan and I are going to go every time I am in Atlanta to see the fish grow.
The jellyfish exhibit (my favorite kind of exhibit) is weak, Monterey Aquarium has a great jellyfish exhibit, so if you want jellyfish, Atlanta is not the place to go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

AmericusAmericus
Americus

Americus, Georgia....Natalie Portman...did you see the movie?
TrafficTraffic
Traffic

Atlanta, GA
Susan's houseSusan's house
Susan's house

My Atlanta couch
Ralph and NortonRalph and Norton
Ralph and Norton

Whale Sharks, the biggest animals at the Georgia Aquarium. Currently around 10ft. and will grow up to 30ft.


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb