Tomorrow is it!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
March 13th 2006
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 1

Trip from Greenville, SC to Atlanta GA

Additional maps: Day 1

Hi everyone!

Welcome to my online travel journal/blog! I'll be writing every now and again to record things that I want to remember; but I'm also writing to keep you all updated on where I am in world and what I'm doing.

As most of you already know (I hope), I'm headed to Mexico, Guatemala, Nicaragua, El Salvador and Belize to participate in a travel study program arranged by Furman's history and political science departments.

Right now I'm in Atlanta, GA at the Hampton Inn & Suites with a few of the other students waiting for tomorrow's flight. It's been a CRAZY weekend ... but 'crazy' in a good, fun way. :-)

I had the best weekend send-off a person could ever wish to have from my family and friends Friday night through Sunday evening (movie night with my roommates, lunch with friends at Corona's, last minute trip shopping with friends, a homemade pancake breakfast, and a wonderful Sunday afternoon band concert where my little sister played on Furman's campus and did a great job ... .) Everything was amazing. Of course, I'm exhausted and ready to go to bed, but I've got to try to finish a reading assignment (a book for the trip). I want to do as much reading as I can here, so I can spent as much time as possible out and about, enjoying the places we'll be visiting.

Packing for the term abroad has been interesting and a bit tricky. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out what, exactly, it is that I need. Most times I was looking for light-weight pants to wear. Wearing jeans everyday like I do at Furman wouldn't work too well on this trip... . Luckily, my friends helped me find out some more practical warm-weather, active wear-type clothing.

I'm excited, nervous, happy and sad that I'm leaving tomorrow, but I hope and plan to have a great time. I think I'm most excited about getting to practice my Spanish and about the foods that I'll get to taste :-). My friends Diana, Morgan and Nadia have all recommended specific foods that I HAVE to look for and try in the different countries; and I'm looking forward to trying them all and more.

Alright, that's all I have for now.

The next time you hear from me, I'll be in Mexico!

Advertisement



13th March 2006

yay! tia! i'm so excited about reading your blog (it was a good one). you're going to have an amazing time. i'm so happy for you. keep us posted as much as you can! besitos!
13th March 2006

go get 'em (those men, I mean)
Tia! I already miss you and you haven't even been gone a day. Just wanted to wish you happy travels...don't stick those ear plugs in too deep. Cool blog! Un abrazo, Morgan
13th March 2006

Enjoy the long travel!
Studying abroad is a wonderful experience. You can do tons of things such as to meet a lof of new people, to feel the cultural differences, to visit famous places, to learn a different language and more. We miss you, but hope you have a amaging time!
14th March 2006

I am proud of you; getting out in the world and trying new things! You are in my prayers. Jarrai Stephens

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb