'Xmas in Atlanta


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
December 25th 2008
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Ian's play time 35 secs
Hello Christmas 2008. This year we went to Sean and Pat's condo in Atlanta. My second visit to Atlanta and not a disappointing one compared to my first visit that was so short and so city-confined.

Since it's been a few years and I don't feel like recalling the details of our trip, this entry will be quite short. What i want to mention is DeKalb Farmers Market. I really wish we had one here in Northern Virginia. All those spices were so darn cheap and abundant for me to choose from. Unfortunately, I didn't take any pictures there because I wasn't allowed to and also I was busy looking around getting stuff to take back home with me. It was an enjoyable grocery shopping.

We went to Amicalola Falls before Heather, Alx, and Ian arrived, since we got a warning that Ian might not exactly be up for doing much walking. Ehh... or maybe the parents themselves... don't remember. It was a pretty falls. My first visit to Atlanta really gave me a lot of negative preconceptions of Atlanta. What would I know from spending only a few hours after a conference walking around touristy traps in Atlanta
Amicalola FallsAmicalola FallsAmicalola Falls

the falls became more visible once we reached the stairs. I was at the first have-a-seat-and-enjoy-the views spot.
before having to rush to the airport. This was what I was hoping to see... nature, life, and living.

According to Georgia State Parks website, Amicalola Falls is Cherokee Indian words meaning "tumbling waters". It's the tallest cascading waterfall east of the Mississippi River. From the bottom of the falls, we climbed hundreds of steps to get to the top of the falls. I would have probably taken roughly 30 minutes, but on a clear sky day like that I took my time taking pictures and enjoying the weather so it took me much longer than that. Sean and Doug were patient enough to not rush me.

After Heather, Alx, and Ian arrived, we went to Stone Mountain. The fascinating part of the place is the top of the mountain; moon/mars-like looking. You're up there standing against this gusty wind. The gusty wind made the late 60s degree and clear sky day like this more like mid winter in Alaska. Those pot holes sure helped confirm my imagination that I was walking on the moon or Mars. I let my eyes wandered to places from the surface of the rock underneath my feet, to pot holes filled with
Amicalola FallsAmicalola FallsAmicalola Falls

getting closer
water, to the unknown city in the distance, and to the clear biggg bluuue sky. I liked this.......until my limbs started yelling at me for not keeping them warm. I finally reunited with the rest of us and then we headed back down.



Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

you don't actually get much water spray on the bridge. A little disappointing.
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

Like father like son
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

The second part of the stairs leading to the top of the falls, 429 steps away.
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

Looking back to the bridge from the stairs
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

View of the falls from the stairs paralleled with the falls.
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

Looking down the steps
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

Amicalola Falls from the top
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

Views from the view point up top of the falls.
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

plant and water falls
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

Heading down the falls, back the way we came.
Amicalola FallsAmicalola Falls
Amicalola Falls

taken from the parking lot.
Stone mountainStone mountain
Stone mountain

I heard people called it "gum pole". I have closer look of it but I don't think they look too pleasant.
Stone mountainStone mountain
Stone mountain

Sean and Doug, speedy people, were up ahead of everyone else.


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb