I'm Home!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Athens
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My flight got in yesterday around 2:00 and I had a niiiiiice reception at the airport (thanks so much Jennie, Lexie, and Adam for being there!). It's really good to be home. First on my list were a long shower, a bath before bed, and a haircut this afternoon. I had a cold glass of milk, some diet coke, and peanut butter last night and they never tasted so good. I also couldn't wait to wash clothes and Dad jumped right on it and got them started. He called me in the laundry room after a bit and opened the lid...the water BROWN with dirt...and to think I was wearing those clothes for a whole month! Hehe..I've never felt more clean in my whole life! I can't even describe how interesting it was to wake up this morning in a cool, dark bedroom...without the sound of roosters, goats, and playing children outside my window. I have a little ache for the people in Oda that I miss so much and was a little sad that Hannah Banana wasn't there to bang on my door screaming, "Breakfast is ready, Little Nora. Come to table!"

Just wanted to let everyone know that I'm home and safe. Thanks so much for reading, showing interest, and sending messages to let me know you care. The support truly made my time in Africa so much richer. I learned so much about myself and about the world and I'm glad that I could share a little bit of what I experienced with the people I care about. I'll be uploading my pictures soon so be on the lookout...I'll post when they're up and ready.

Madaasepa! (thank you very much) and take care...

Laura (Gloria, Nora, and Abena...all my Ghanaian names!)

Advertisement



10th July 2006

Thank God your home safely
I got your message. We're having Bible Time this week so I didn't call when I came home. It's so good to know your home safe and to know that you've done something that you will remember the rest of your life. Not many people ever experience anything so dramatic!!! Love you and I can't wait to hear in person some of your stories. Will be looking for the pictures. Love, Rita
11th July 2006

so call me soon i mish you.
11th July 2006

Thanks
Thank you for taking us all along on your trip through the writtings on your blog. I loved reading everyone of them and could not wait until you posted again. It was wonderful to read about other cultures. If you ever go on another trip I want to know if you journal it. I found your blogs to be so interesting. Thanks again for including us all. Love you.

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb