Neil Vida


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware » Wilmington
August 15th 2012
Published: August 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola Everybody.

I've caved to peer pressure and started my very own travel blog. Hopefully this is just as much fun for me as it is for you. The title of this blog is a bit of a double-entendre/pun. Ubiquitous with Costa Rica is the phrase 'Pura Vida.' It's a motto similar to Australia’s 'No Worries,' Jamaica’s 'Yeah Mon' and America's 'Do you want fries with that?' It's significance depicts the country's attitude and mindset. It was part of the allure that compelled me to go there. In my readings, it has been an apt description. So Neil Vida/Pura Vida play on words ha. I digress.

I'm sitting on the eve of my departure with a nervous adrenaline. Somewhere in between Christmas Eve and Cliff Diving. My packing is relatively done and all that's left if the day of travel tomorrow. I'll take the Amtrak from Wilmington to Baltimore, then flying out of BWI with a layover in Florida. I'll arrive in Costa Rica around 8pm their time. Which I think they keep in metric.

The first adventure will be locating my host mother 'Pricilla' whom will be standing 'to the right of the airport with a 'Neil' sign. Fingers crossed. I can't wait to improve my Spanish and get some real cultural immersion. Everyone I've met from different walks of the world has been so interesting and insightful. I'm keeping a private journal, which I will write entirely in Spanish. Hopefully I'll notice a huge progression.

Welp, I won't bore you with much else. There will be plenty of pictures to come, I just won't post one of me writing this in my bedroom. That's for my private journal. I'll miss the people here so much. I wish I could put my states life on 'pause' so I wouldn't miss anything.

Man I'm excited.

Well. Adios. (Which is an interesting word. a = to, dios= god)

“To venture causes anxiety, but not to venture is to lose one's self.... And to venture in the highest is precisely to be conscious of one's self.”

Advertisement



16th August 2012

Bon Voyage!
Have a safe trip, Neil! I like your idea about writing your travel journal in Spanish. I wish I had thought of that when I went to Spain- but then, I probably wouldn't be able to read it now. Have a great trip (year? life? I don't know how long you are going...)!
17th August 2012

GET HUSKY
Via con dios you son of a bitch
17th August 2012

Muy buena suerte con tu adventura! Seguro que vas a aprovechar mucho de tu experiencia y que tu español va a mejorar muy rápido. Espero con ganas de ver tus fotos!
18th August 2012

Gracias
Gracias Laura. Aun, me ensañaste el mejor.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb