Yum, wine tasting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut » Pomfret
July 10th 2009
Published: July 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sharpe Hill VineyardSharpe Hill VineyardSharpe Hill Vineyard

Entrance to the Sharpe Hill Vineyard, off of a very typical winding back CT road
Very cool day today. I looked through an old Frommer's travel guide for New England my mom picked up on one of her many yard sale jaunts, and found some local attractions that I didn't even know existed. So, we spent today visiting a couple sites located in nearby towns. First up, we headed out to the Sharpe Hill Vineyard in Pomfret, CT for some wine tasting and a walk through their grounds. Their tasting was quite reasonable...$5 per person to taste 5 of their wines, $10 to taste all 12. As it was early afternoon and we had another stop, we decided to go with the $5 option each (and share tastes) so we could try 10. Although mom "forgot" to share one with me, so I only got to try 9...hmmmmpf. Their most well known wine locally is called...get ready for it... Ballet of Angels (giggle, smirk) and has a label that is just plain weird. IMHO it looks like wine for babies, but I digress. I really enjoyed their dry riesling...yum, never had a DRY riesling before.

After the tasting we took a stroll through the vineyard to see the grapes and get a view of "The
Some Riesling grapesSome Riesling grapesSome Riesling grapes

Where the wine begins
Last Green Valley" which is what I've just recently learned they call this wide stretch of lush green-ness in CT and Mass. Toward the top of the hill, mom stopped to chat with a couple who was driving through the vineyard (and turned out to be the caretakers) and I continued up the hill. From the top I was treated to a beautiful view of the valley and vineyard, which my pictures just don't do justice for. On the walk back down I found mama still chatting, but I had to pull her away because we needed to be on our way to our next stop...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Close up on baby grapesClose up on baby grapes
Close up on baby grapes

hmmm...using an old digital camera & this just didn't come out as I'd hoped...
The Last Green ValleyThe Last Green Valley
The Last Green Valley

A view of the beautiful Last Green Valley. Stunning
Ballet of AngelsBallet of Angels
Ballet of Angels

Odd little label, but nice little semi-sweet white wine


12th July 2009

WOW! Who would have thought??? I would love to go there some time too! Did you buy any??? Looks like you and Ak ARE HAVING A BLAST!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb