The Daily Dose


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sonoma
August 8th 2013
Published: August 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post


The Daily Dose

People don’t always have the time or opportunity to get outside every day. That is why I created The Daily Dose. The Daily Dose is a glimpse into nature to keep you in touch until you are able to get outdoors yourself.

The Daily Dose may include a story, or, at minimum, a couple beautiful pictures taken on a local hikes or beyond. As you look at each picture, I encourage you to imagine what it might smell like there. Is it redwood forest? Eycalyptus? Imagine the temperature. Does it look hot? Breezy? Really take a step outside and get your Daily Dose!




I wanted to see what was happening at the old orchard so I started assembling my gear right after I got home from work. There is construction near where we live so getting in and out of the driveway can prove challenging, but I got lucky for my exit to the trail.

I park by the storage units and start up the hill. It gets steep right away and I’m beat today, so I just move nice and slow. Giving myself permission to take it easy. I’m going so slow, it’s as if I’m mountaineering! Ha! Well, not quite that slow, but pretty darn slow.

I see a little bird in the center of the trail. I quietly open my lens and try to steady the camera for a shot. I take a few pictures not really sure if they’ve come out because the sun is glaring off my view finder. I suppose it will have to do. Starting forward, this little bird doesn’t move. Just goes about his business of hopping and pecking at whatever it is in the dirt that is so enticing.

I laugh. After all that effort I could have walked right up to him and taken a picture – which I did! Moving on up the hill I get a great view of the side of the valley. It’s patchwork of vineyards and farmland.

I turn left and head towards Fern Lake. It feels strange, usually I turn right towards vulture gully, or down through the redwoods. But not today. I come over the hill and glimpse the lake. The time of day has the water looking emerald green.

Once I’m around the other side I stop and stare. It’s as if I’ve just gotten On The Bus! A cool breeze is blowing and the colors are so vibrant they seem to shimmer. A cat tail fuzzy drifts lazily by on the wind and I think how pretty it would be to photograph it. I ready my lens and wait. Then I realize what I’m doing. I’ve stalked birds and animals, but now I’m stalking fuzz? Naw, I cap it and move on.

Into the redwoods. Ahhh. The temperature changes on the hike are many and one of my favorite places to be is in the sheltering arms of a redwood grove. So quiet. The needles make for soft walking and my feet are grateful.

Up, up the hill. It seems like forever today, but finally I reach the level which houses the orchard. I go around to drop in from the back so I won’t miss anything. As I come up the center of the orchard, near where the fruit trees begin, my jaw drops. The trees are loaded! I’m definitely still On The Bus! Nature’s Bounty lay before me!

I put my pack and poles down and dig out the bags I brought just in case. The pear trees are so full there is food lying all over the ground. Which is where I get most of mine. Makes for easy work and leaves more to ripen on the tree for the next folks. I fill up two bags of pears and move across the trail to the apple tree.

One tree has apples that taste good, but the fruit is too high up and I’m too lazy to make any real effort for them today. The other tree has apples within reach, but lacking in flavor. I button up my pack and put it on. Dang. Feeling the weight now! I
can’t wait to see if the plumbs are bearing as well!

I head over the next rise, turn and bid farewell to the upper orchard. There is the grove, but I can’t make out what’s on the trees, or not on them. I walk down the hill and – Whoa! They too are loaded to the brim! Again, down with the pack and out comes the bags.

My pack is nice and heavy now and I’m ready to hit it. I load up my pockets with plums to eat as I hike out. Free Food! Nothing better.

I pass another small grove of plums on the hike down and load my now empty pockets one last time. The food is just falling to the ground! I need to come back up. With a bigger pack.

I see piles of plum pits on the trail, remnants of an animal who enjoyed their fill as well. I make my way back down the hill. Ready to have the heavy pack off my back . Another spectacular day on the trail with a bonus! Gracias A Dios!

There are many more pictures down at the bottom. Please feel
free to share this blog with anyone you think may enjoy a little Daily Dose!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement






Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb