Chill Out Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sierra Madre
August 31st 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I slept the whole of the morning and some of the afternoon waking up at 2pm. It was definitly needed and as Jan and Steve had to work was the only thing I could really do! I chilled out in my PJs watching re-runs of preseason NFL matches and doing some work for my Dad. I got dressed at 4 and headed for a walk around the town but it was soo bloody hot and at least 40 degrees centigrate. I grabbed a smoothis from a juice bar and sat on a bench in the shade watching the kids, just out of school running around, causing havoc and shouting "Oh My God!"...the youth of today!

I went home just as Steve was arriving so we went out to get a phone for me that would work with my T-Mobile SIM, as my HK one hadnt worked the night before. On the way Steve talked about his new class at school, he teaches 7th grade humanities. He told my how all week, the first week of the year, he had told them to learn the continents and oceans for a test on Friday. He then said how he had "Fucked them all" as they were expecting to just regurgitate the answers onto a map but he asked questions like "What continents touch the Pacific Ocean?" and "What Oceans surround Africa?". He then told me how he failed them all and started laughing! He is a great teacher in my opinion as too often kids just learn stuff to pass tests but dont learn anything. What a legend!

I picked up a retro samsung flip phone for $30 from Best Buy but the lady couldnt get my SIM to work either! So she set up the one that came with the phone and then we went to the local T-Mobile store. However they couldnt get my SIM to work either and when they checked the registration it was registered to some random person! They said i needed to take it back to the store in Calabasas but put some credit on my other one so it would work. However in doing this I realised my credit card had been blocked as wouldnt work in both shops. So had another long call with RBS, this time I got them to call me back though after the cost of my last call!

Jan made dinner for us tonight which was delightful and to accompany it Steve and I bought some beers from the liquor store. Steve has these great goblets that if you leave with ice in they get really cold and keep the beer cold, after removing the ice of course!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb