Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park


Advertisement
Published: September 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The drive here was incredible. By the time I actually arrived at the forest it was dark, but as we turned the corners and bends the headlights lit up the trees ahead of us to reveal the giant Sequoia tree's - the largest tree's in the world. Yep, apparently even bigger than Redwoods. It was hard to look away. At every bend I couldn't help but gasp and say "wow look at that one!".
The first night i was a little worried about the bears. After setting up my tent in the dark, I went to bed... then the unimaginable happened... I needed to find the restroom! - and FAST! I was so scared of the bears because I didn't know what to expect or do if i saw one and they came close. So I woke someone up to come with me lol. I felt like a child. Turns out I didn't see a bear the entire trip, and am now kinda disapointed about that. By the last day I seriously considered planting food in someone elses campsite, just to encourage the bears. I decided against it, incase someone got hurt. Apparently the California Black Bears are pretty much harmless
Driving ThereDriving ThereDriving There

Everything looked so dry, and then all of a sudden i saw this small neighbourhood that was extremely green.
passive bears. Thank goodness they don't have Grizzly's here.

I was staying at the Lodgepole Campground, and I had a gorgeous campsite next to the river. There were tiny squirrels bouncing around everywhere. They are smaller than the ones in Los Angeles. I wasn't sure of the type so I nicknamed them pixy-squirrels. Cute, huh?

I met some of the other campers, who were absolutely *delighted* to have an Australian as their camp neighbour. Two families literally gathered around me to hear my accent and stare continuously at me. They treated me like i was a celebrity, and it made me uncomfortable for a while.

On the first day I walked the General Sherman and Congress Trails. It was nothing like I thought it would be. When I read about the hiking trails I certainly didn't expect to find them neatly paved with stairs and decorated along the edges with bricks. However, the walk is a bit of a workout, and the Sequoia tree's that surround the path are breathtaking.

I visited the Crystal Cave. It was beautiful too. The through it took around 45 minutes, and the ranger had a good sense of humour which
Around LodgepoleAround LodgepoleAround Lodgepole

A rocky river surrounded by pine trees.
made it even more enjoyable. They told us about how all the shapes and formations were formed in the cave. It had a river flowing through it, and the bottom was lined with marble.

Even the drive to the park is so scenic, and the scent of the pine tree's is relaxing. I want to visit this National park again someday.




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Me with a Sequoia TreeMe with a Sequoia Tree
Me with a Sequoia Tree

Look how massive they are!!!
Seqoia Tree'sSeqoia Tree's
Seqoia Tree's

So big...
The viewThe view
The view

See, I told you it was amazing!
The AmphitheatreThe Amphitheatre
The Amphitheatre

Nothing much happened here
Crystal Cave StreamCrystal Cave Stream
Crystal Cave Stream

Lined with marble
Chef VicChef Vic
Chef Vic

Sweating over a hot stove
Sequoia Tree'sSequoia Tree's
Sequoia Tree's

From a distance
High Bear ActivityHigh Bear Activity
High Bear Activity

Ventured into here and still couldn't find any!
Bear Proof BoxBear Proof Box
Bear Proof Box

If you don't store you're food in here and keep it locked, you're in trouble with the bears. Even your car isn't safe.
Sequoia MuralSequoia Mural
Sequoia Mural

In a town called Visalia, just outside of Sequoia.


6th September 2005

Bears
Fantastic photos. Just one question. What has the removal and replacement of baby seats in cars got to do with bears? Have fun.
8th September 2005

Baby Seats
I think it's because they may carry odours - food, baby vomit etc. The bears have amazing senses.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb