At least I have rough hands.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sebastopol
March 20th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

All this moving around of dirt and old boards will help my climbing.. without gloves, my skin is roughenin' up real good.

Working for a recovering alcoholic and his wife, to whom I cannot tell he actually speaks, is frustrating. This household is anything but unified. I thought maybe they had a plan, and I was the only one being left out of the loop, but it turns out neither of them really have plans. Maybe Marty does... But, either way, they both have ideas that are completely different about what they see happening on these premises, they haven't really talked about it, and I am here to listen to what they both have to say, follow orders accordingly, and then un-do everything I've done in order to appease whichever one didn't give me the instructions in the first place.

I want to come home. But I want to be adaptable. So far, I eat. A lot. All the time. Because I'm uncomfortable in my situation, and food is something that I understand. It understands me. I'm still really healthy, though, so at least I don't really have to worry about that.

The adaptable are the ones who will survive. The sun is shining right now, so I'm going to go for a run. I don't want to, but I'm going to. I have to. I don't know what will happen to me if I don't.



Updated attitude:

A 14 mi. run always does me good. I think it took about a half a mile before I was laughing. If I could do that once a week or so, I would be able to survive anything. My feet hurt by the end, but that's possibly just thanks to the paved trail I ran on.

Marty invited me to dinner, beef stir fry with rice and veggies. Not entirely like me to eat, but oh well, I'm doing it. And I'll be missing another opportunity to do a circuit training course at the climbing gym, but it's worth it to be making friends with her, and getting to be around Emerson. Plus, this way, I'll go to the circuit training Thursday night, when Jay is back, so I'll miss out on potentially hanging out with him, which is awkward and discouraging at times.

A new project for tomorrow: take apart a shed, move all of its pieces, take down a kayak shelving unit, dig a new trench a few feet away from where I wrongly dug the original trench, pour gravel, add cedar planks : tadah! A path. Clean everything up so that it is as pristine as Jay would like for it to be.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb