An interesting proposition


Advertisement
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

An interesting proposition has arisen from a friend who is moving to Paris at the beginning of June. She would like for me to accompany her (all expenses paid) to Paris, if I can transport one of her three cats to her new apartment in the 20e Arrondissement. All I have to do is furnish my one way ticket to New York city, help her with last minute details and shelve my cat allergies for a few weeks. And if at all possible, get to Carnegie Deli for some Matzo soup and cheese blintzes before boarding the plane to Paris. Incredible, but I think the universe is actually listening to me! So, that Passport documentation that's been ignored for the past 6 months, is being dusted off and moved to the top of my To Do list.

Then of course, there are the myriad voices inside my head telling my why I shouldn't go. The fear of traveling without my husband. The thought of being cooped up in an airplane for more hours than fingers on my hands. The possibility of having an all out anxiety attack so far from home. Is it safe for me to leave my armchair? I am 100% ensconced in my cocoon of a life. Does the need for adventure and new experience outweigh the fear and apprehension that I feel about being alone in a foreign country? How can one ever truly know the answer, unless of course we take that first step into the unknown. Risk and faith walk hand in hand I suppose.

Dear blog followers, I thank you for your kind words and encouragement. I'm not sure how you found me here, but I just want you to know that it's comforting to have you out there in the world. Merci Beaucoup from the bottom of my fickle heart.

Advertisement



7th April 2011

You only live once
Dearesr RaincoastGirl You are sooooo a girl after my own heart. Be a devil. put your fears aside and try the real McCoy. Looking forward to reading all about it Lotsa love
7th April 2011

Be a devil....
Hmmm....I rather like that idea. Being an angel gets kinda old after a while! Will keep you posted. Raincoastgirl
11th April 2011

Surprises
The unknown can feed you in ways you'll never know if you don't try. All those fears you list don't seem life-threatening...So I encourage you to go for it. Like a fledgling bird....have faith that an exciting world awaits you.
14th April 2011

Thank you for the encouragement! Indeed, one never knows unless one gets out of the armchair and spreads her wings. I am so ready to fly!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb