African Drum and Dance Revisited


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sebastopol
December 17th 2009
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

By Melisse.
After Dave and I paid a surprise visit to our dear friend and African drum and dance teacher, Victoria, she arranged a reunion of our little group we drummed with for five years. We called ourselves "CaCaCaliente", meaning, either we were "hot shit" or we had a bit of a stutter. Dave and I fondly kept a photo of our beloved group on our photo bench in the dining room since we left California. Any way, with short notice, Victoria invited every one over and, thankfully, all managed to come. Having not drummed in the ten years since we left California, Dave and I thought Victoria had a nearly impossible task of pulling us back into the fray of creation of African and Cuban rhythms. But to our GARGANTUAN AMAZEMENT, as soon as Victoria briefed us on each part of the various rhythms, our HANDS REMEMBERED how to move...WOW! What a high! We were all humming along, in a groove, beating out multipart drumsongs, staying on the beat or if falling off it, being able to pause, then join right in again. We were so proud of ourselves and even more, grateful to Victoria for having taught us so well and for being able to recapture the magic.

High on Victoria's stupendous drumming energy and abilities as a teacher, I decided to attend her African Dance class that I (and Dave) took for five years when we lived here. I had noticed how unfluid my body was moving in Zumba class. Usually I feel lovely and in-the-groove when boogieing. But in Zumba, as a beginner, my brainpower was all soaked up in the placement of my feet and my body couldn't feel what to do. The idea is to MOVE / HAVE FUN / EXERCISE .... I did really enjoy it but......returning to Victoria's dance class is SO MUCH MORE...Not only is it exercise but also art and spirit. It's dance the way I like to feel and do it. And Victoria creates a sense of community for that hour and a half and is able to teach experienced dancers at the same time she pulls beginners along with love and great whole-body instruction. At the same time she's busy conducting the bank of 6 or 8 ace drummers, pulling together and creating a synthesis of fabulous energy. So if I'm going to do any dance and I'm in Sebastopol, it's Victoria's class I'll take. (Tuesdays, 7:30pm at Monroe Hall, Santa Rosa, CA)



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



17th December 2009

well said!
Love the way you put into words the joy and satisfaction we get from our drumming, dancing and Victoria! Great reminder to me, thanks!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb