Get this Girl to Ghana!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Seaside
August 27th 2014
Published: September 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys!

My name is Teagan, and as of August 26th, 2014, at about 7 a.m, I am officially a volunteer through an amazing program called Projects Abroad. Projects Abroad is an organization that sends volunteers to all corners of the world, to about 30 countries. I will be going to Cape Coast, Ghana, in the summer of 2015. I will be going on a "High School Specials" trip, where I will be observing at a hospital for one day a week, then spending the rest of the week in public health clinics, giving malaria tests, dressing wounds, etc. This project is for high schoolers betwen the ages of 16 and 19, and I will be going for a month. I will be staying with a host family for the entire trip.<br style="margin: 0px; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; color:� font-family: lato, sans-serif; font-size: 18px; line-height: 25px;" />So many of you may ask, why Ghana? Well why not? When I was in the 2nd grade, my little YMCA soccer team was named Ghana. It was the first I had ever heard about this country, and I was intrigued. I did a bit of research, and learned about the country and its history. When this wonderful opportunity came up, I quickly scrolled through the list of countries, and squealed with excitement when Ghana was on this list. I am very interested in pursuing a career in the medical field as well, so this volunteer opportunity combines 2 things I am incredibly pasionate about (volunteering and medicine), and 1 country that intrigues me. <br style="margin: 0px; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; color:� font-family: lato, sans-serif; font-size: 18px; line-height: 25px;" />Many of my friends are planning on studying abroad for the 2015-2016 academic school year. I have never been interested in studying abroad, but I have always wanted to volunteer outside of the US. I do a lot of volunteer work here in the US, as well. I believe that when you volunteer, you learn many things, whether patience, compassion, or passion to fix an issue. This will be my first experience outside of this country. <br style="margin: 0px; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; color:� font-family: lato, sans-serif; font-size: 18px; line-height: 25px;" />This project is $3,555, not including flights, visas, passports, etc. <br style="margin: 0px; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; color:� font-family: lato, sans-serif; font-size: 18px; line-height: 25px;" />Thank you in advance for your support. Feel free to follow me on my fundraising blog, as I make the 321 day journey of fundraising, excitement, and volunteering. 😊

http://www.gofundme.com/dlw5l4

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.2kb