Escape from LA


Advertisement
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jamala Valley RoadJamala Valley RoadJamala Valley Road

Spring time in Santa Barbara County.
After a final burst of convention floor frenzy, packing a box of business clothes and literature for shipping home, it was back to the hotel for departure. The beginning of a nine day vacation had arrived.

The freeways the GPS chose to route me out of town lacked diamond commuter lanes. Nonetheless, traffic flowed smoothly after a noon departure. Did I mention that drivers hauls ass down here?

Soon I was riding in view of the Pacific Ocean up the coast through Santa Barbara, and beyond almost to Lompoc. Here I turned off a little road that dead ends at Jalama Beach Park. I arrived just in time to get some beer at the little store before it closed, and settled in to my breezy campsite.

Not well known in the area and considered remote by some, it is a laid-back park run by Santa Barbara County popular with surfers and surf-fishermen.

Firewood was plentiful along the estuary passing my campsite, and soon there was a nice fire to accompany the malted beverages and fire-heated canned chili. Bachelor camping at it's finest!

Along about an hour after dark, a group of campers arrived nearby and began
Jalam BeachJalam BeachJalam Beach

The park is just over the hill, Vandenburg AFB in the distance.
what was clearly a rookie attempt to make camp. Soon I had two cute girls in my camp asking if I had lighter fluid. They had kindling and newspaper and not a clue. So boys, when five coeds from UC Santa Barbara need help, watcha gonna do? We moved a couple burning pieces from my fire, hacked up their kindling, and used my lights to make a group firewood run to the beach (100 meters). Of course after helping them make a roaring fire, I was compelled to accept their offer of wine and company. Didn't want to be impolite......

It was a great escape from LA.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Hills in BloomHills in Bloom
Hills in Bloom

Color on the contours.


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.062s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb