Around the World in 81 Days - Welcome!


Advertisement
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh!!! My amazing trip starts now! After a day of frenzied packing and last minute store trips, I think I am ready to take off on this crazy trip of mine!

So welcome! This will be my primary means of communication with most of you, as I will not have any phone service while I am abroad. If you need something specific, feel free to email me or skype with me. I should have internet access for a good portion of my trip.

Where am I going? What am I doing? Well, after months of planning (and training for the latter portion of the trip) here's a rough sketch of where in the world I will be:

May 25-31 - Exploring Ireland
May 31 - July 7 - Germany and surrounding countries
July 7 - Doha, Qatar
July 8 - Arrive in Nairobi, Kenya
July 9 - Travel to Arusha, Tanzania
July 9 - 14 - Safari around Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater
July 14 - July 31 - Volunteering at Orphanage in Arusha
July 31 - August 7 - Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro (summit day is August 4th... send me good wishes!!!)
August 8 - 13 - Around Nairobi, some misc. adventures (Elephant Orphanage, Masai Market, etc)
August 13 - Return to the States, sleep for a week.

The first half of the trip will be mostly exploring (hence why there is no real plan laid out) with my best friend Brittany. The second half of the trip I will be meeting up with my brother, Sarah and Jared once we get to Nairobi.

This is truly the trip of a lifetime and I'm stoked to have the opportunity to travel this summer (beats taking the bar exam... aka... next summer... woot.)! I'll try and update when I can, and if I can add pictures along the way, I will, but if I am not able to, I'm keeping a journal and will definitely update when I get back.

I'll miss you all! Enjoy your summer!


Advertisement



26th May 2009

you will be in our prayers
We are all wishing you good luck and good health and safety. I will be praying for you every day, wishing I were with you and hoping to see you sometime after you return! Love you lots!
26th May 2009

Tom wishes you well, also
Tom hopes you have a good trip, also
7th June 2009

Thanks!
Thanks so much for your warm wishes! We're having a great time! Hopefully we can all get together sometime soon. It's been too long!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb