Silicon Valley


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Jose
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After graduation I worked for 2 years as an engineer for the insurance company and in an unexpected turn of events I was helping out a neighbor with her insurance claim and remembered how much I loved the challenge of working insurance claims. Shortly after that I transfered from Engineering to Claims within the insurance company and began two years of working the most amazing claims ever.

I cut my teeth on $100k claims. And worked my way up from there. I worked a fire in San Francisco. I worked a pier collapse in San Rafael, CA. I worked an arson fire in Porterville, CA. I worked a building collapse in Denver CO and Littleton, CO. I worked a contamination claim in Santa Clara, CA. I worked with another adjuster on a claim in a molybdenum mine in Idaho, a hotel collapse in Las Vegas, a hotel fire in Vail, CO, an explosion at a solid rocket fuel plant, and a contamination claim on a batch of wine. It was an amazing experience and a wonderful time.

During this time I also stepped out socially and was very active leading and participating in singles events from all over the Bay Area. In the course of this I met a man who would become very special to me and very frightening as well. We dated briefly and as a result of that encounter, I freaked out and accepted a job in Norwood, MA. To be sure this position was a promotion, however, it was also on the East Coast in an area where they get lots and lots of snow. And in an area where I knew no one!

It was one of the stupidest mistakes I made in my life. Not one I regret making but, stupid none the less.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb