Pensive Preparations and Foggy Frustrations


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Jenny's CatsJenny's CatsJenny's Cats

Just two best friends, enjoying each other's company
Hello and welcome to my, Natalie's, attempt at a Travel Blog. I will be leaving for my 6 week trek in Europe this coming Monday, and thought I would try and document my experiences in Europe for your interest or benefit. I have no idea if anyone will actually read this blog, but hey. It's worth a shot. So if you wish, you may count on this blog as a sort of Timeline as my trip progresses and hopefully you will be able to experience some of my adventures vicariously through the medium of this website.

Currently, I am sitting in the living room of my good friend Jenny K, located in the Outer Sunset neighborhood of San Francisco, my birthplace and hometown if you will. Although the calendar reads June 7th, indicating the approach of the summer solstice and hope of warm weather, for anyone who has lived in the City by the bay or visited said amazing place, Mark Twain's quote rings true: "The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco". As soon as June hits, Fog (yes it deserves a proper noun capitalization) rolls in from the west, off the cold Pacific Ocean,
JennyJennyJenny

My beautiful friend Jenny. All bundled up and ready for summer!
and envelops most parts of the city. The sun can sometimes faintly be seen through the layer of thick fog, but wind and chilly air cast a somber blanket on this beautiful city.

I must admit I will not miss this cold and dreary weather, for in Frankfurt, my first destination, the weather has been in the high 80s (F). I will actually be able to enjoy a true, warm summer.

And so, as Jenny and I prepare to make a quick trip to Golden Gate pizza on 46th and Judah for dinner, bundling up in scarves and jackets like any seasoned San Franciscan would, I must bid adieu for now. Don't worry, you'll hear from me soon, and I hope to have far more interesting tales to tell. Below I took some photographs of my City to show I am not fibbing about our wretched weather. Until next time,



-Natalie


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The Outer SunsetThe Outer Sunset
The Outer Sunset

The N- Judah "racing" to pick up it's smorasborg of passengers.
NatNat
Nat

"But first, lemme take a selfie".
Great HighwayGreat Highway
Great Highway

Not much to see...
Lands EndLands End
Lands End

Beautiful view, horrible weather. Note: In the lower right hand corner are the remains of the once popular Sutro Baths. Around the bend to the left, the famous Cliff House.
What's Beyond the Horizon?What's Beyond the Horizon?
What's Beyond the Horizon?

Thinking about life, and other such things.
Great Highway #2Great Highway #2
Great Highway #2

The bright condos on the left are on the sight of the old amusement park Playland. Sadly, I was born too late to ever experience it's wonder.
Ocean BeachOcean Beach
Ocean Beach

Never. Ever. Swim. Here. Although I've had one too many "fun" nights during the multiple bonfires I've been to here.
The Texting GenerationThe Texting Generation
The Texting Generation

Jenny doing what we do best.
SquidSquid
Squid

Local graffiti artist has drawn multiple squids all along the sidewalks.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb