I left my heart in San Francisco.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 25th 2014
Published: January 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post


“There may not be a heaven, but there is a San Francisco” – Dorsey Shaw




One can fall in love with a city. It happened to me last year, August 31, 2013 to be exact. Like millions of other people before me, I left a piece of my heart in San Francisco.



People keep asking me why I love San Francisco so much but I don’t have a simple and clear answer. I love the city as a whole. It’s by far the most scenic city I’ve traveled to. If you are one of the lucky ones who will be visiting soon, here are a numerous of things to do in San Francisco. Get your itinerary ready!!






Golden Gate Bridge- I felt an emotional tingle, a “pinch-me” travel moment when I saw this gorgeous bridge. The Golden Gate Bridge has always been on my “bucket list” and the moment I saw it, I was amazed by the views, they were just gorgeous. I highly recommend walking the bridge if you have time or maybe bike across? ($9.00 at a local rental) – I actually did not have time to walk or bike so my boyfriend and I drove to Marin Headlands and we admired the view from there. STUNNING!















Go on a trolley ride- Okay,my boyfriend and I were seriously obsessed with the trolley. We spent an entire day riding around the city. Aside from the Golden Gate Bridge, the trolley is an iconic image of San Francisco. The cost is $6.00 for a one way trip, I suggest purchasing a San Francisco visitor passport. With the “Visitor Passport” you can ride the trolley as often as you want for only $15.00 (1-Day Visitor Passport). My favorite trolley line was the California Street Cable Car also known as line that operates between Powell and Hyde Street, the views were breathtaking.


Tip: Line ups form all day long at the starting points, so be prepared to wait if you decide to begin your trolley experience at the starting point. What I actually did was ::laughs:: start my trolley experience a block away from the starting point. Why? Well.. the trolley is not completely filled at the starting points, which is why the line can take from 45mins-1hr. The trolley leaves at least 5-10 seats open for the stops ahead. –saved a lot of time by doing this.




















Food- YELP is my best friend. I will not eat at a new place without doing research or reading reviews on the restaurant. Call me picky, I do not mind but reality is… how can you not want the best out of your breakfast/lunch/dinner experience?



After reading reviews, we decided to try the following restaurants, and we do not regret it. The food was absolutely amazing.



1) Honey Honey Café & Crepery: Yes, this place had a line all the way to the door on a Sunday morning but it moved fairly quickly. While we waited, we absorbed the menu and looked at some of the dishes coming out of the kitchen. The people were friendly and the price was right. Great breakfast/brunch/lunch place if you’re in the Union Square area and want something a little less touristy. We had a cheesy omelet, potatoes, whole wheat toast and a mimosa.



2) House of Nanking: I really dislike Chinese food but my boyfriend was in the mood so we decided to try this place. Okay, I did mention I disliked Chinese food correct? To my surprise, this food was sinfully delicious! Best Chinese food I EVER had. My boyfriend and I shared the famous Nanking Sesame Chicken and the House Fried Rice. We shared because the portions were huge and we usually share a main dish.. Besides, we are always on a budget believe it or not.



3) Tony’s Pizza Napoletana: This place was absolutely fantastic. I shouldn’t even tell anyone this, because it would just make the lines longer (no reservations), but yes the wait was worth it. Tony’s pizza has at least 8 different pizza ovens representing pizzas from throughout the world, plus lots of pizzas specifically designed to highlight the nuances of each oven. You MUST, MUST go to Tony’s if you’re in San Francisco. Pizza & wine please!!








Lombard Street- We parked our vehicle a block away from Lombard Street. Walked up and then walked down. If you love to test your driving skills like my boyfriend does, this one is one heck of a road. Lombard Street is known as the most “Crookedest-Road” in the world with its 8 hairpin turns between Hyde and Levenworth Street. It’s probably about a 30-degree incline, quite a walk up and eventually back down. But once at the apex of the hill, looking around is quite a view, great for long exposure night city photography. Lombard Street is iconic, beautiful and FREE. I love FREE!














The photos below were taken a few blocks away from Lombard Street, such a sweet little treasure.
















Alamo Square Park & Painted Ladies- (Ahhh, ahhh, ahhh, ahh) “Everywhere you look, everywhere you go, there’s a heart, there’s a heart. A hand to hold on to ” –Full house theme song


Beautiful little park, great view of the city skyline & the Painted Ladies (the houses from Full House- Area they show the Tanner family having their picnic in the opening scene of Full House)












Fisherman’s Wharf- There is so much to see at Fisherman’s Wharf. Very interesting area, lots of restaurants with yummy seafood, shops that carry San Francisco theme area items, nice view of the Alcatraz, the bay and you see/hear sea lions. If you’re lucky like I was, you can watch the sunset. ::faints::















Union Square- This is a really beautiful area of San Francisco. There are so many stores. I felt like I was in a smaller version of NYC without nearly as much crowd and traffic. Beautiful architecture, plenty to do and see. My recommendation is to take a trolley to this area and walk as much as you can. Fantastic spot for an alfresco lunch on a sunny day!
































Chinatown- Strolling down the streets of the chaotic Chinatown was quite an experience. Is a great place to get lost in for a couple of hours (yes, I was lost). Plenty of things to see and eat. You must visit Golden Gate Bakery and get some Dan Tat, visit the Fortune Cookie Company and purchase some yummy fortune cookies, and wander amongst the streets and alleys of good’ol Chinatown.











Baker Beach- This spot offers the loveliest view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Even on a foggy day, it is misty and gorgeous. On a Sunny day, it’s just amazing. Very quiet beach away from the city. Great escape for a beach lover and an animal lover. YES, bring your puppy with you! People are there with their kids, their dogs, their BBQ’s, their guitars, their games, and sometimes just their naked selves. YES Baker Beach is a nude beach. Who would of thought?















Sausalito- When I think of Sausalito, my heart skips a beat. Sausalito is quaint, charming and full of life. I couldn’t help myself; my camera went into picture overload within 10 minutes of being there. I fell in love with this beautiful little city. I will be back and until that day, my heart will weep silently for you.


















I love you San Francisco.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb