New Zealand Part 2


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The second half of my trip in new zealand started with a ferry between the two which had some stunning views. Our first stop down the coast was in Abel Tasmin national park. I did a sky dive here which was absolutely unreal. I was last to go so having seen all the other groups do it my nerves were going a little. Once you get in the plane and you are strapped to you partner you lose all control. The moment when you leave the plane is such a good feeling. Amazing. The next morning a did a canoe trip around part of the national park. It was a really cool little trip as well. From there we continued on the bus down to a place just past greymouth which is a little hostel run by a crazy old basically just set up for the kiwi bus where everyone gets stupudly drunk and get dressed up. Our them was the letter P so I got wrapped up in wrapping paper and dressed as a present. The winner dressed up as princess diana and work a duffel back. It was a good al be it very drunken night. Further down the coast we spent two nights at franz josef. The first day most people spent nursing hang overs but the second we did the glacier hike. This is up there with coolest things I have done in New Zealand. We got a helicopter up then had 3 hours guided your over the ice through crevasses and stuff. It was incredible. The final stop before queens town was wanaka. This place has a real apri ski feel to it even though it was just the very start of the ski season. Most people had a chilled night here but for some reason I ended up being out till 4am with an american guy and it was one of my best nights out during my whole trip. We ended up at a load of random bars recommended by locals and joining in somebody's birthday celebration. Finally we made it to the main event of the south island, Queenstown. It is hyped up for a reason and that is because it is amazing. It is quite a small place really and the surrounding scenery is just stunning. The first two nights were really good nights out with the group from our bus. My favorite bar there was a place called cowboys that served giant handles of beer and had a bucking bronco. The second night out we met a bunch of the irish rugby players who were spectacularly drunk. During the those two days we did a nice walk tried some frisbee golf (failing miserably) and eating Ferg burgers. These can be had only in Queenstown and it is worth going there just for them. They are absolutely massive and delicious too. On my 3rd day I did the 134m nevis bung. I did not find this as nerve raking as the skydive which is unusual but I think it is because I had been mentally preparing for it my whole trip. The rush was immense. So cool. I also spent a couple of days skiing on coronet peak. It is not massive (kind of reminded me of a good day in glenshee) but it did provide a good couple of days skiing. The second was the better. There was a light dusting of fresh snow and I went with and American guy and we took turns picking lines and trying all sorts of different routes. Great fun. My last two days were fairly chilled as most of the group had moved on. We watched Ireland get trashed at rugby in the pub and did a hike up queenstown hill. My last two days I spent visiting my relative lynette to spend a couple of relaxing days not in dorm. It also gave me a chance to see the destruction caused on Christchurch. It is a real shame. So many places had been completely demolished. I only have California left now. Heres hoping it is as good as the rest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb