Ethnic SanFran


Advertisement
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! Today we saw some more ethnic neighborhoods of San Francisco. Our morning was consumed by our visit to Chinatown, one which resulted in empty wallets (from the plethora of touristy shops selling buddhas to lanterns to swords) and full bellies (via the House of Nan King, one of San Fran's most famous Chinese restaurants). We then traveled to see a bucket drummer; that's right, a man who uses large white buckets (and various other ecutriments) as drums. This was fascinating and more enjoyable than you'd think. From there we scooted on over to the Mission (mainly Hispanic) district where we took in the fabulous street murals that flavor that part of town. While some may call them glorified grafitti, they are trying to send a message and spread beauty, both of which they do. Tomorrow we will head off to the Muir Woods and follow it with whatever adventures that we can fit in. Your kids are doing well and picking up the pace a little; they seem to be getting used to the constant movement. They have a tendency to find enjoyment wherever we are (for the most part 😊, and for that we are grateful.

'Til tomorrow!

Advertisement



25th May 2006

Good to hear you're alive and well
Hi to all. I missed hearing from you for a couple of days. I have asumed no new was good news. It's lonely here and I decided I'm not doing this next year! Everything sounds so fun. I hope the pace isn't too fast for Toby, and Danie keeps asking me if the chair is working well? Give my love to all, I find I am really missing these kids! (And, maybe Mikele could call?) See you soon.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb