Our first (crazy) day in SanFran


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We have arrived safely, albeit warily, in San Francisco. Today was quite an adventure!

Our plane arrived on time, but not before we had at least one student lose his boarding pass and another student get patted down for plastic explosives - really! I wish I were making it up. Then, as we took our transport (by bus) from the Oakland airport to the subway station, our bus driver hit a pedestrian. Does this seem crazy enough yet?? Luckily, there was no real damage done. Since then we've checked into our hostel, discovered that catching a bus can take an hour, and reminisced over the fact that if you walk the 2 miles one way on the Golden Gate Bridge you have to WALK back as well; no, there's not a bus. Oh, and in case you all were wondering, it really can take all day to do just these few simple things. Needless to say, I think we'll all sleep soundly tonight. Hopefully tomorrow is just as fun but not quite as rigorous.

All of your children are doing just fine. The best thing you can do as parents is to communicate to them (although I'm sure you already have) the importance of toughing things out, making do, and not making out. In some ways we wish our students liked each other a LITTLE less 😊.

Thanks for lending us your delightful children; we'll try to bring everything back in working order.

Advertisement



23rd May 2006

I always heard the road goes both ways! I can imagine everything but the plastic explosives part...hey, who is teaching these kids anyway? Just kidding. Maybe when I think about it, it's not so unexpected after all. As far as the making out - I'd say lots and lots of garlic as a discipline. Make them just crunch it up raw. I so appreciate you guys and I know things will iron out. These are good kids. Praying for you all, Laurie

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb