Checking in from the West Coast...


Advertisement
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well hello fellow Marist Volunteers and fans of our travelblog!

I haven't checked in for a while so I thought I would write a quick post. There hasn't been too much new and exciting here in San Francisco although things have been going very well. Just as it seems like I am finally getting settled and have comfortably aquainted myself with all the local customs its almost time to count the days left in my west coast adventure.

Work is going very well at the shelter. One of my coworkers recently left on maternity leave which allowed me to pick up a few cases of my own. Both clients who have moved out received permanent housing giving me a 100%!s(MISSING)uccess rate!(as much as I would like to take full credit for this I am pretty sure it had more to do with the fact they were at the top of the public housing list). My most challenging work seems to be with the children of the shelter, who unfairly inherit all of their parents struggles with homelessness. The spectrum of good days and bad days is extreme, including attending a former clients' funeral and celebrating a child's first good grade on a test occuring on the same day. It has been a delicate balance to passionately care and yet stratigically detach from my work, but a valuable and worthwhile lesson as well.

Things in community couldn't be better. San Francisco has just finished its rainy season and the sleu of 75 degrees and sunny with a cool breeze is upon us. This allows for the perfect morning consisting of morning prayer with the fellas, a light jog, and a leisurely breakfast with the morning paper. Outside of the intensity of my ministry, life is very stress-free here in San Francisco. My community site provides me with a great opportunity to unwind, reflect, and take in the days events. I feel very lucky to have a place that allows me to fully relax and not have to take my work home with me, something that can be detrimental to anyone working with such a volatile demographic.

This past Saturday night, Aaron and myself joined our roommates(3 Parish priests, one brother, and a "come & see" participant discerning a possible vocation to the priesthood) as we indulged in a celebratory dinner in North Beach(San Francisco's Italian neighborhood about 5 blocks from our house) in honor of St. Peter Chanel, one of the founding Marists. The Notre Dame de Victoires church itself is celebrating its 150 anniversary this year, which will consist of a weekend of festivities for the Parish, School, and surrounding community(personally I am looking forward to the "evening of wine and cheese" - it is a French Parish after all).

I feel I have fully adapted to San Francisco and consider myself fully educated in the local culture. As one of the most transient cities, no one from San Francisco is actually from San Francisco, which makes it a little easier as a temporary resident. Much like the Jamaica girls, I feel I have become almost immune to the bizzare events that occur on a daily basis. San Francisco has one of the most unique and diverse populations and the dynamic can often be a cross between unbelievably horrifying and incredibly entertaining. Robin Williams once described San Francisco as "a human game preserve", a portrayal I am inclined to agree with.

I hope all is well with the rest of you MVPers around the world. I am looking forward to the opportunity to get together and exchange stories and experiences at the end of the year retreat. Talk to you all soon!

-Johnathan, San Francisco


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb