Ferry to China Town


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I took a Ferry from Larksburg to the San Francisco Building. If you are ever in San Francisco I recommend the ferry over driving into town. It was a nice relaxing 45 minute journey with a great view. I decided to head to China town with my backpack full of audio recording gear, a travel book and a camera. During my walk I recorded a man playing clarinet, another guy beating on metal pots and pans for peace and the traffic on the streets. I few moments/blocks later I stumbled upon the China Town gate. After taking a few pictures I decided to go in. The ambience of these streets were filled with laughter and men on the corner playing chinese instruments that resonated many blocks away, it was beautiful.

My first real destination was the Golden Gate Fortune Cookie factory. Down Ross alley women make fortune cookies by hand, this was a must see. You can pay 50 cents to take a picture and of course sample and purchase fortune cookies. It was a very small place, room for 3 people with fortune cookie machines that take the batter and flatten it, then the people take the flattened cookie, insert a fortune, fold it up and let it dry.

After that I decided to wander around the nick nack shops, grab a bite to eat and see where the streets take me. After being rejuvenated with food I headed in the direction of Kong Chow temple but got distracted by a music shop called Clarion Music center on Sacramento Street. What I was hoping for when I walked in were unique chinese instruments and I got it. After walking around for a long time staring a gongs, melodicas, jaw harps, various singing bowls, various shaped drums and more I walked out with a Frame Drum. Now I have to learn how to play it!

After the music shop it was time to head back to the Ferry to my temporary home away from home.
Along the walk back I stopped to look at art and record skate boarders and seagulls. Next stop Muir Woods.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



4th April 2010

Kristi the Explorer!
Looks like a nice journey. I always wanted to take the ferry in SF and Chinatown is always fun. Did you pay the ladies their 50 cents?!! Did they charge anything to record the SOUND of making fortune cookies?!
10th April 2010

Blog
Hey, really liked your blog. You worried me though, when you were on that curving road to Muir Woods. Check you spelling often. I'm going to tell Steve to check out your blog, before they go to San Fran. Tell Brad hello. Love ya, Mom

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb