Home Sweet Home And PICTURES!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
September 9th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

While the last few weeks of my trip were a bit of a bust, I have pretty much fully recovered from the flu and am quite happy to be back home in my beautiful city where so far, no one seems to not want to be around me based on my swine flu history.

I did attempt to make lemons out of lemonade and spent the last few days in Australia in a small beach town about 3 hours North of Sydney called Port Stephens. It was very pretty and I managed to do a few fun activities while I was there. I rented a bike and rode from one end of town the next (on the left side!). I went whale watching and didn't see one stinkin' whale. I ate lamingtons, drank tea, and did not fall into the "want to try vegemite?" trap that the hostel owner attempted.

I also stewed over the fact that I wasn't able to make it to Cairns to dive. I stewed over the fact that I hadn't followed my gut and extended my time in Vietnam so I could go to Sapa with JB. What can I say, I'm not proud of my stew, but I had a lot of time on my hands and in my own head. But here's the thing with stewing, sometimes it helps you figure something important out, and that I did. I realized that in life, it's easy to give yourself credit for good decisions, the ones where everything goes off without a hitch, and it's also easy to kick yourself in the tush when things don't work out the way you want them to. Ultimately, sometimes you just have a bit of bad luck and no amount of hindsight (be as it may be 20-20) will allow you to reverse and change your course. The best you can do is just get on with it.

With the exception of Australia, my journey overall was a fantastic adventure. Here are my Pictures so you can see for yourself.

Thanks to everyone for following along, I've really enjoyed all of your comments and notes. If you ever travel, I suggest keeping a blog...it helps you to collect your memories over time and it's a great way to share the experience with others.

Ciao for now!

Advertisement



10th September 2009

home is sweet
spamela, nothing like home is there. Your photos are wonderful, you look just like you did in '94. :) Great to hear that contemplation was on the menu, always a pleasure to read your thoughts. Stay in touch. mjd

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb