California Sun Does A Body Good!


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Grand Canyon was definitely a trip worthwhile. I enjoyed my time there. However, it was time to keep heading west.....California!

First I landed in Anaheim, where I visited my life long friend, Jaime. When I got there we realized that we haven't seen each other in almost three years! WTF?! Can't believe time escaped us that fast. Anyway, I made it here and was glad to see my good friend again. We started off the day with a trip to a Major Leage Baseball game....Angels vs. none other than the Texas Rangers. I'm not really a Rangers fan, it just happened that they played while I was visiting. Anyway, the game was cool. Got good seats and drank plenty of expensive beer. Now, let me be clear. The beer was not high quality beer, the ballpark just happened to stick it to us with high prices. Bastards. Jaime took me all over the L.A. area. We swam at Laguna Beach, partied at Huntington Beach, got to see the Hollywood sign and some real Hollywood stars in Hollywood, Ca, and we even cruised by Beverly Hills to see how the rich live the high life. We hooked up with our other friend, CJ, who was having a small get-together. More drinking was involved. Elijah, who was back in L.A. from his travels even stopped by. We caught up on our traveling adventures after separating in Nicaragua. Had a great time in L.A.

I proceeded to head north to good ol' San Francisco. Woo hoo! Heard so many great things about this city that I had to check it out for myself. I visited my friend, Javier, who I met while living in Mexico. Jav was born and raised in San Fran, so I was in good hands in learning about the city.....and of course, the popular bars. Jav knows plenty in all areas of town. San Francisco was really cool. I could see why people flock to live there. The city has such a good vibe and it's pretty easy to get around without having a car. Javier and I went everywhere! We biked and bussed all over town. Got to see another baseball game, San Francisco Giants vs. L.A. Dodgers (apparently big rivals). Giants fans were talking a lot of shit to Dodger fans. It was pretty funny. On the last day I was there, Jav and his roommies had a party. Complete with two bands and mariachis. A lot of people showed up. It got a little crazy. Good times!

My last California journey was to the Sequoia National Park. Three more days of camping and hiking. I love nature. The park was beautiful. Oh man, and the sequoia trees! WOW!! They were HUGE! These sequoias are related to the pacific redwoods that are also found in California. The tallest trees in the world. The sequoias are also really tall, but the redwoods are taller. However, the sequoias are wider and have much more mass. As you walk through the forest amongst the sequoias, you feel like you're in a fairy tale. Walking in a forest of giants. Unreal. I enjoyed being out here by myself. Escaping the city. Escaping into wilderness and being in touch with nature.

All these hikes and being on the road have taken a toll on me, so it's time to head back to Texas. Plus, I seriously need to find a job. Being a world traveler is awesome, but it costs money. Know any good companies that are hiring in the Dallas area?

love and peace,
alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Walk of FameWalk of Fame
Walk of Fame

One of my favorite bands.
Inglorious BasterdsInglorious Basterds
Inglorious Basterds

Came across this movie premier in Hollywood without knowing.
L.A. Dodgers vs. San Francisco GiantsL.A. Dodgers vs. San Francisco Giants
L.A. Dodgers vs. San Francisco Giants

Yes, made it to another baseball game while in San Fran.


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb