City by the Bay - My trip to San Francisco


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
November 24th 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The City by the Bay. There's only one place that could refer to - San Francisco. This historic city offers so much to see and do, I could visit it again and again without growing tired of it.

San Francisco has a lively and fascinating history. Originally settled as a fishing village, it was transformed almost overnight into a fabulous city thanks to the '49ers. No, not the football team--the delirious hopefuls who rushed here from across the country when gold was discovered in 1849. The city has been attracting folks from across the country ever since. During the Internet revolution, a number of newly minted business tycoons chose this California city as their home, particularly in the tony Nob Hill area. This change over time has resulted in a fascinating mix of modern and Victorian architecture which is so unique to San Francisco and which I simply loved photographing.

I think that the constantly growing and changing population which has helped this city evolve into a veritable melting pot of cultures makes it so similar to my favorite New York. Just like in the Big Apple, many people of different nationalities I met are pleased to call San Francisco home.

One of the best things about my stay in San Francisco was my majestic view of the Golden Gate Bridge from my window. People who visit this charming city for the first time absolutely should take a ride on one of the fabled cable cars, which happen to be the only moving National Historic Landmark. For art and history lovers, there are about 65 museums in the city, so no chance to be bored! Relaxing at the Golden Gate Recreational Area was also one of my favorite pastimes.

To be honest I think that my main problem in planning a trip to this bustling city was trying to fit everything in. There is just too much going on! As far as accommodations go, I think it’s best to use Internet and rent an apartment in San Francisco. Mine had the most excellent view and was centrally located. What more could I wish for?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb