Urban Gardening


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

A few photos from my urban rooftop container garden. For the first time, I've put in vegetables - about six of the 20 pots. This is an experiment for the spring and summer. I just harvested my first two heads of lettuce and have been eating the ever-bearing strawberries as they ripen, a few at a time. The chard should mature in about 2 weeks, the snap peas have about 7 weeks. If the aphids don't destroy the Brussels sprouts and artichoke, they should be ready in about 6 weeks. Here's hoping!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

First cropFirst crop
First crop

Two types of lettuce, ready for tonight's salad (which will include pickled green beans I canned two months ago.)
ChardChard
Chard

Red chard, ready for its close-up.
PinkPink
Pink

I can't remember what this flower is, but it's more than six feet tall and is seeding to other pots.
Herbs and flowersHerbs and flowers
Herbs and flowers

Geraniums surround the basil plant I use constantly. Tonight it will go in pasta with whatever I have around.
GreenGreen
Green

Lettuces around the perimeter, Brussels sprouts in the center.
EverbearingEverbearing
Everbearing

Strawberries in foreground, rosemary in background.
ValiantValiant
Valiant

Artichoke tries to overcome aphids (and the ants that tend them); strawberries (back left) and rosemary (back right).


3rd November 2008

Ladybugs
Git you some ladybugs fer them aphids, or some praying mantids. Nice garden!
3rd November 2008

aphids
Your lettuce looks fabulous -- wish I could join you for tonight's salad! Have you tried importing ladybugs? They love dining on aphids. You can buy them by the hundreds at a garden supply store, I think (my experience is decades old, I'm afraid), and though you can't convince them to stay if they want to fly away, they often stay where dinner is plentiful.
3rd November 2008

Portland, pickles, garden
Great pictures, all. Good to see your garden thriving w/your automatic watering system -- mine too! I may have paper-white narcissus in bloom soon -- I love the fragrance. xoxoxo, Mom
3rd November 2008

Lavender flowers ....
...I think, are cosmos. As in the movie, The Color Purple, a great field of them.

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb