On the Run: Run for the Little Blue Box


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
October 22nd 2007
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear Families and Friends,

I did it again!

I finished the Nike Women's Marathon in San Francisco.

The weather was spectacular, sunny and cool. We started in downtown San Francisco at Union Square, ran through the financial district to Fisherman's Wharf. Mile 6 to 7 was one mile long of uphill. It was very challenging for me who is used to a flat course! But, when I reached the top, the view of Golden Gate bridge and the pacific ocean appeared in front of me. Wow.......it was stunning. It was breathtaking. It was completely worthwhile to climb that hill.

I was going very strong until I reached Lake Merced at about mile 20. I experienced muscle cramps that I never had during my training. I stopped and stretched my legs. I was able to run slowly to mile 23. Then, a more severe cramp occurred that I almost collapsed. At this point, I could not run any more. I had to make a very heart breaking decision to give up my goal of finishing the marathon under 5 hours. I walk the last 3 miles to the finish line.

A little disappointing but after 5 hours and 6 min of running and walking, I crossed the finish line and received my little blue box with a Tiffany's necklace in it!!! Did I mention Tiffany?

Despite the cramp, I finished 20 min faster than my first marathon. It was another experience I will remember for a long long time.

I would not be able to complete my marathon without all of your support in the past few months. Thank you for listening to my ups and downs during my training season.

Special thanks to the fellow runner who gave me salt tablets to help with the cramp. Without you, I may not have finished.
To A, whose text messages supported me throughout the race.
My sister for being there on the course.
Finally, I want to thank J and S for walking the last few miles with me while I was in sweat, in tear and in pain!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb