waiting...waiting...waiting...


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

View from our apt.View from our apt.View from our apt.

the rooftop patio of our possible SMA place
Waiting is one of the hardest things to do...especially when you are excited about something. We have been waiting for about a week now on the rental contract from our new possible landlord in San Miguel. She has a gringo manager who is a retired lawyer and is going to write our contract up...but I think he is on Mexican time down there. I have become addicted to checking my gmail account every half hour to see if I received any emails from them. Once we have secured our apartment, then I can feel secure about things like booking airfare, figuring out paperwork and looking at freelancing.

We have been slowly telling more and more friends and family our plan and everyone is both amazed at our upcoming adventure and a bit sad of our leaving. It is so strange to think that I won't be seeing these familiar faces every week or day...but I just keep looking back on how it was when I went to college. (Hard at first with all the packing and leaving....then one of the best times of my life.) We still have to tell more people at work, but are keeping that on the quite side until we have a for-sure date and for-sure apartment...so back to waiting on that dang contract! Ronnie has been very patient with me and assures me everything is going to be fine...but I think it is the adrenaline that kicks in.

We have started going through the apartment and figuring out each piece of furniture into 4 categories... Keep, Maybe, Sell and Going to San Miguel. We also went through our clothes on Sunday and I got rid of 4 big garbage bags worth! (I mean I am going to sell these at a garage sale...hey I need money!) Kirsten was very happy to come over and clothes shop from our give away pile. It is so hard to get rid of things. Luckily, two books really helped me with the clean up:

A New Earth By Eckart Tolle (says items are not a part of who we are. They are just things we buy to help us figure out what we are)

and

Guide to Style By Tim Gunn (says you should get rid of everything except who you are today...like that shirt you used to wear dancing but haven't in years)

I still feel like I should have gotten rid of more...but I am pretty proud of what I did accomplish. So now back to...waiting...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb