Getting ready to Depart...!!


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am beginning to start the count down to my amazing adventure in South Africa for the summer.

I am going to be participating in a volunteer program through the Enkosini Eco-Experience.

I leave on June 8th, and arrive in Johanessburg on June 10th. After long lay overs in Miami and Madrid, I will have to hop on a bus for five hours till I arrive at the tiny town, where a small bus will pick me up and take me to the Makalali Game Reserve. Here I will be spending three weeks out in the bush, doing feild studies on lions, night trecks, safari's, and working on elephant and lion contraception programs. I can't wait!!

Then I am back to Jo. And hop on a plane to Capetown. Here I will be spending the next four weeks working for the Eco tourism and research team of the Great White Project, highly acclaimed in National Geographic. Now for those of you who do not know, this is my life goal being accomplished here, I have wanted to get in a cage with great whites in south africa ever since I saw them on Shark week the very first time so many years ago. I can't believe I am actually going to be going out on a boat, learning how to use the boat, and getting to hang out with these monsters for weeks! Not to mention I will get to be surrounded by people who love the same things as me, and will learn a ton!! I will be able to step into my passion and into the feild I hope to go into, and really get a feel for where I want my life to go. I feel so lucky to get this opportunity because alot of people, I think, don't get this at such a young age. And for that I have my amazing parents to thank, and of course, all the people who helped us raise the money for me to go. Seriously... there really are angels in this world, and they are only a handful! I am so greatful.

Next on the Itinerary, I head to Plenttenburg Bay, on the famed Garden Route, ranked one of the top coastlines in the world. Here I will spend my last three weeks in south africa whale watching and working in the community to educate and bring awareness to the plight of the marine encironment. God I can't wait to get involved! And Ill get to see killer whales which I have always wanted to see!! YAY!!

Well it's getting late, but I wanted to start this thing up!

lastly, I want to thank everyone who made this possible! I don't know where I would be in my life without the amaxing people I have in it to guide me along. It means the world to me that people who have known me my whole life, along with people who have never met me at all, but know my dad, would donate their hard earned money to the cause of making my biggest dream come true! I think that you all know who you are, and I am setting up this website to keep you updated on what amazing opportunities you have opened up for me out of the goodness of your hearts! Thank you so much, please feel free to keep in touch and keep up with my adventure!!

Also to my friends! I am going to miss you guys!! I can't wait to show you all my fabulous stuff, and ill bring you all back great presents!! Hehe!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb