San Francisco to Grand Canyon


Advertisement
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

One of the things I have always wanted to see is the Grand canyon in Arizona.a natural wonder of the world.So I hired a car and firstly headed for the Somna and Napa Valleys to sample the wine, stopped overnight. Found a unusual place to stay with a French type atmosphere and very pretty accommodation. . The following day on my way to Arizona and the Grand Canyon, it would take 2/3 days to get t there. Well getting out of Napa was a real nightmare the direction are hopeless so I got completely lost and lost several hours before I managed to get on the right route. Traveled most of the day nothing really of much interest as you leave California for Nevada and it’s desert and by 21-30 had had enough and pulled into Wesley a one hick town, found hotel a Holiday Inn Express very plush and much cheaper than S.F. Nevada is just endless desert with the Sierra mountains in the distance. Eventually got a place called Seligman and pulled into a motel (would you believe it run by Indians, no Asian type). Went down to the local hostelry for food and drink .It was really buzzing many cowboys in there with their big hats. Unfortunately didn’t have camera with me would have made interesting pics .I also saw 4 yes 4 Twelve’s on the PIE scale they were enormous in unbelievable! They didn’t come from Ohio either; they in fact were Mexican oh! I wish I had the camera.
It was really rocking and when I asked what time the bar would close 2-am was the reply or maybe later depending on the numbers .I was amazed this was a one hick town but this place turned out to be the local meeting place. I left at 11-00 as I wanted to make sure I got to G.C. the following day.

Phileas


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Goods Train Goods Train
Goods Train

This train was one mile long being pulled by two enormous engines at about 30kph
On Hols bring car toOn Hols bring car to
On Hols bring car to

The actual caravan was the size of a coach enormous


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0991s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb