San Francisco Departure


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I left San Francisco and jumped on the Green Tortoise bus. Jen Nelson and Eoin dropped me off. I knew I was in trouble when a group of rowdy Irish men arrived. I just can't get away from them 😊

We started off by meeting everyone on the trip and picking buddies. I quickly realized I was one of only 3 Americans and one of 6 people over the age of 21, which made for quite an interesting ride. There were about 22 people on the trip all together.

We spent the first night traveling through the night. We first performed the "miracle," the conversion of the seats on the bus into beds. I stayed up much of the night getting to know the people on the bus and learning how to play the Aussie and British card games.

I also quickly learned that drinking any liquid (alcohol or not) on the bus must be planned very carefully. The bus did not have a bathroom which meant that you had to give a 45 minute notice to the bus driver if you wanted to stop. Of course, I had not quite learned how to time my bathroom stops on the first night so I was in a bit of agony. I tried my hardest not to run to the bathroom but I basically had to sprint when we made it to the rest stop 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb