Yosemite & San Fransisco


Advertisement
Published: June 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After a crazy weekend in Vegas we headed for the tranquility of Yosemite National Park. We firstly hiked around the forest looking at all the Secoya trees, the biggest trees in the world and took some photos before heading to camp. In the morning we had a free day in the park. Faye and I decided that instead of spending the whole day doing one hike up to a waterfall, we'd hike up to see Mirror lake, something I wanted to see having been to Lake Louise when it was frozen. Then from there we'd do a smaller waterfall hike and then chill out over a coffee! Mirror lake was stunning. It literally did mirror the mountains in the water as it was so still. Faye and I then spent some time taking some stupid photos with the rocks and the trees before heading off to see the Lower Falls. We literally hiked up to the point where we were getting drenched in the spray of the waterfall, it was great. We then decided we'd earnt a coffee so headed to the cafe. We were sitting down and I saw someone familiar walk past...I took a second lookas did he and then we realised- It was a guy that I'd met in Whistler in Canada! We'd randomly bumped into each other in a whole different country, in a huge national park; that's when I realised just how small the world really is! Before we met the others back at the bus, I sat on a boulder abover the rapids in the river, put my ipod in my ears and wrote an entry in my journal, what a perfect yet weird place to reflect upon the world!

The next day we had a long drive into San Fransisco, somewhere I'd really been looking forward to seeing. Before we even checked into our hotel (yes hotel, I was so in need of some luxury by this point!) we'd walked across the Golden Gate Bridge. It was great to be doing something I'd pictured myself doing months before my trip started! After that we checked into the hotel and quickly got ready for a sunset cruise. As it turned out, only 6 of us from the tour including Will wasnted to go, and when we got to the docks the sailors told us that nobody else had booked on! We had our own private party on a catamaran with free wine and food! I even got to sail the cat under the bridge on the way back as the sun was setting. Again, sitting on the seats at the back of the boat watching the sun fall, passing under the Golden Gate bridge in San Fran was a moment for reflection! Amazing and one of my favourite moments. After we'd docked the Cat we decided to continue the party and headed up to the top floor of the Sir Frances Duke hotel which is a bar that overlooks the city, brilliant!

In themorning we took ferry over to Alcatraz prsion and did the audio tour. That was facinating. It was hard to believe that people actually lived in those conditions. Solitary confinement was literally a box secluded from all sound and light and people were left in there for weeks on end. Later that afternoon I explored the city on foot, or a very small part seeing as the hills are massive and it's a big place! Love San Fran, it's upthere as one of my favourite cities that's for sure, I really need more time to explore it so will definitely be going back one day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



10th June 2006

Amy this all sounds so amazing, we will definitly have to meet up and you have to give me all the details! You will have to give me hints and details of where you booked all this. Anyway hope you enjoy the rest of your time there, look forward to reading more of your entries. xxxx

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb