Long time coming


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego » La Jolla
February 28th 2010
Published: February 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

EmilianoEmilianoEmiliano

Playing Jenga
Alright, I know it's been quite a while since my last blog but I hope you can all understand. So I have let two whole months pass without a good blog (except for the one my sister wrote in late December) and there is much to tell. For those of you who do not know, Maria's mother entered the hospital yesterday to have a brain tumor removed. I ask for your thoughts an prayers as she begins surgery this week. We are hoping the procedure goes well for her and she can come home quickly and fully recovered.
Changing themes, my work is going well and I am really becoming comfortable as an ESL teacher.Right now my days are long, from 7am - 12pm, then 4pm- 830pm, but I have a nice long lunch break at least. I have also been able to find some free time to do things I really enjoy, such as; play soccer, go for runs/work out and take photos. The weather is also improving drastically, everyday is usually 75 and sunny. I have to start putting on sunscreen daily. Aside from work I have started to look for a new apartment. My one room studio just
MeMeMe

Downtown Puebla
isn't working out for me anymore. Especially when I am paying almost the same price as renting a full apartment. I have found some prospects, but none with all of my criteria so the hunt continues.
Here in Puebla things are calm, but there is more movement as the weather gets nicer. People are out shopping, running and playing sport once again. The spring seems great here, but nothing like a spring in MN after a very long winter! This is my favorite time of year back home, so enjoy it you guys!!
I have not been able to travel much in the past two months. Although I did get to visit my dad's side of the family to celebrate Betty's 90th birthday! Congratulations Betty! I had a great time with the family in San Diego and was able to take a long relaxing weekend. Really great to see the whole family together. It was also nice to be back in an English speaking country to hear all the mistakes we natives make while speaking haha. I also got a chance to see my ex-room-mate mike on this trip. Mike is working in the Southwest Conservation Core and decided to
The borderThe borderThe border

Welcome to Tijuana con el coyote no hay aduana.
use his valuable weekend off to come visit me. If anybody wants to here about how "safe" our borders are give Mike a call. Mike, thanks for coming by it was great to see you!
Mike, Peter and I also were able to experience a good old fashioned car crash while in San Diego. While coming back to La Jolla and exiting the freeway the 1980s BMW we stalled and we were rear-ended. There was no damage to the BMW (those things are like small tanks) but the other car had some damage. They were a couple of Mormon Mexicans, driving from (i forgot what city in Mexico) to Los Angeles and had stopped in La Jolla to see the Tabernacle. They did not speak any English and lucky for them they hit a car with three white guys who all speak Spanish. I felt guilty, because they said they wouldn't be able to make it to Los Angeles now because of the repairs. But then I remembered what they taught me in drivers ed, THE 3 SECOND RULE!Trust me they don't teach you that one here...
Changing the subject again, I am sure you have all heard about the
Syd and Laura LeeSyd and Laura LeeSyd and Laura Lee

Taking a stroll on the beach in Del Mar
earthquake that struck Chile yesterday morning. It just so happens that the city where I lived, Concepcion, has been struck the hardest. Once again send your thoughts and prayers for all those in Chile. I especially hope that Oscar, Caco, Cristian, Dani and Lina are ok!
We have been having a crazy year so far, I hope things calm down a bit as it progresses. I guess I will tell you about some things going on here in the future. This month I will finally be purchasing a sweet new bike. I am also hoping to travel to the beaches of Oaxaca for my Easter break so if anyone is interested let me know! Other than that the plan is to keep doing what I have been doing and save some money for Maria to come back to MN in August. *This plan is tentative* but I have my fingers crossed. I miss you all very much! Take care enjoy the spring and warm weather which is soon to come. Keep in touch. I may be writing less on my blog but I will always reply to an e-mail.
Love
Jake


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Surfs Up bra.Surfs Up bra.
Surfs Up bra.

My sister, dad, and cousins Kevin and Casey
Awww.Awww.
Awww.

My sisters and I making cards for grandma.


28th February 2010

Great photos...
Thanks Jake....I have two images of you in my head from this trip. 1) You sitting on the sidewalk outside the greyhound station in San Diego, reading, with you backpack by your side, and 2) You walking into Mexico with those twelve foot chain link fences on each side of you! You are trully a world traveler, fearless, but smart. Keep clicking and writing.
1st March 2010

la paz
la paz mi amigo. gracias por la update-a

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb